malay women

Standard

friends-discovery-friendship-quote

bouh

good old times: with several of my precious friends, 20 years ago when we were 20 kgs lighter!

My good old friend who visited me last week is on her flight to Malaysia, oh how I miss her! She’s shattered from her work trip in London and Paris; glad to be on her way home, but a bit sad to leave me. Her brief visit has prompted me to write another post on friendship. It’s made me reflect on my life so far, on how fortunate I’ve been to have met a group of wonderful women I can call long term friends. As we grow older, people come and go in our lives, only a few remain in contact on a regular basis. Only a handful understands you and accepts you the way you are, more often than not these would be old friends who go back a long way. I’ve been in England for 17 years now, I sometimes feel that when I’m out of sight, I would be out of mind too. But such is not the case. My old friends cherish my friendship, and for that I feel ever so grateful and blessed. I know I’ve changed in many ways ever since I lived in the West; for instance I only eat rice 2-3 times a week, I used to eat it 2-3 times a day back in my homeland! I don’t even prepare many Malay dishes anymore, was happy when my friend cooked it for me! That’s just a simple example, point being I know I’m a different person now compared to when I was living back home. But deep down inside I know no other woman would understand me as well as this bunch of lovely ladies I’ve known for so long. We may meet each other once every few years but we will pick up where we left off as if we never parted. We know what goes on in each other’s minds even before we could spell it out. I’ve met many women of different nationalities and backgrounds but this lot of Malay gals are closest to my heart, I guess I’m a true Malay woman myself too at the end of the day. To entertain my present nostalgic feelings on a rather wet, windy and cold autumn’s day; I’ve included a Malay song I love, dedicated to all the lovely Malay women out there, especially those who know me personally. As my hubby always says about me; you can take her out of Malay land, but you can never take away the Malay in her! And I would always answer back, you are the only reason I’m here! :) No, I think I’m quite comfortable in my own skin now, I am what I am. And my hubby is right in constantly reminding me that it’s my destiny to be here, as willed by God. Thank you God the Almighty for the many blessings in my life, for all the genuine hearts intertwined with my own. ❤

10 responses

  1. What a beautifully heartwarming post! I could feel your sincere gratitude for your friends through your friends and I’m sure they know how much you cherish them. I feel the same way about my own little group of friends back home and like you said, even if we don’t see each other often, when we do meet it’s as if nothing has changed and we’re just continuing the conversation. Wishing you a good Friday and weekend coming up!

    • thank you lillian, it’s nice when others can relate to what I write. i hope your friendship with your friends last through the decades, like mine did. you have a lovely weekend too, don’t forget to wrap up warm from head to toe! :)

  2. I enjoy this post and love the sentiment. How wonderful you have these beautiful friends in your life and true friendship will survive time and space. You’ve adjusted yourself so well as you are comfortable about yourself in this land. Like you, I only eat rice very occasionally these days. We eat a lot more pasta — pasta of all shapes and textures.

    Thank you for this beautiful song. I’m listening to it now.

    • so lovely to hear from you again janet, hope you are well. must admit i haven’t been keeping close tabs on the blogs i follow lately…will do so sometime soon! you would definitely understand the identity crisis i experienced all these years trying to fit in the community and lifestyle in England. there were times when I feel I’m neither here nor there. but as the years go by, i feel more at ease with everything, comfortable in my own skin! yes, we eat a lot of western, italian and indian these days…pasta is a regular staple! :) enjoy the song, I love it!

  3. Salam sis Rosa Noor,
    That’s so true, real friend is the one yang could contact you on a regular basis, no matter what. So I guess I have to wait until I turn 40 for me to get to know who is my sahabat sejati, lagi 6 tahun kena tunggu.. :)

  4. I can relate to yr post as I am still in contact with my college friends(only two of them out of a big group of 10) and when we meet up the years just seem to melt away! The three of us feel like the carefree college girls we were more than 40 yrs back! thanks for the heart warming write up!

    • you’re much welcome, and thank you so much for your input! I pray your friendship with your dearest friends lasts forever more. It’s just unrealistic and unsustainable in my opinion, to have a wide circle of true friends around you as you get older. it’s only those precious few that you share your deepest concern and worry if needs be, the first ones you reach out for when there’s something super exciting to share!