bath spa

Standard

“Bath is a city in the ceremonial county of Somerset in the south west of England. It is situated 97 miles (156 km) west of London and 13 miles (21 km) south-east of Bristol. The population of the city is 83,992. The city was first established as a spa by the Romans sometime in the AD 60s about 20 years after they had arrived in Britain (AD43), although verbal tradition suggests that Bath was known before then. They built baths and a temple on the surrounding hills of Bath in the valley of the River Avon around hot springs. Edgar was crowned king of England at Bath Abbey in 973. Much later, it became popular as a spa town during the Georgian era, which led to a major expansion that left a heritage of exemplary Georgian architecture crafted from Bath Stone.”   Wikipedia. 

Now let me guide you around this amazing city through my very own eyes, this is actually my second visit to date, I love revisiting places I’ve been to as there will always be some hidden nook and cranny which I might have missed. My other half remarked how I’m beginning to resemble a British Tourism Board staff these days, but I beg to differ, as I view things through my Eastern eyes, not necessarily encompassing everything that might interest a Westerner. Does that make any sense? Right, enough of my chattering I think, let’s begin, shall we? I’ve chosen some of the highlights from my recent visit to share with you here, obviously I have plenty of images altogether as I just love taking photos especially of wonderful historical places such as Bath.  Hope you’ll like them!

Sally Lunn’s, the oldest house in Bath

my kind of shops

can’t resist this!

hungry!

Roman guard

roman bath museum

street musician at the square outside Bath Abbey

don’t forget to feed the pigeons!

bath for the Royals

open top bus to take it all in

horse carriage ride like jane austen

we prefer to walk!

 

outside the cathedral

my favourite stall at the market

coffee anyone?

or some teaset perhaps?

we do have a sweet tooth!

Pulteney Bridge, major tourist spot

view from the bridge

The Circus, an example of Georgian architecture, begun in 1754 and completed in 1768

at the ‘circus’

The Royal Crescent, a residential road of 30 houses laid out in a crescent built between 1767 and 1774.

georgian architecture, typical in Bath

georgian garden

7 responses

  1. Salam Noor 🙂 Another drooling entry 🙂 Never been to Bath before, look very nice and serene;) I love the hanging basket and the shop that yr small kid like 🙂 Before this i loveee watching “Midsummer murder’ on ASTRO as i can’t have enough watching the mat salleh kampung 🙂 🙂 As usual always love your photos, you are very good at choosing the right angles,the focus and object. Wish you a wonderful time there.

  2. thanks so much again for your positive comments and for visiting my blog! it’s nice to have readers/bloggers like you who appreciate my posts for what they are and taking your time to leave comments, truly appreciate it!

  3. Sugar and spice and everything nice! I love the tea-pots especially! So chantek…I tak pernah sampai ke yukay ok!

  4. hopefully you can visit someday with your family inshallah…teapots kat sini memang cantik, so many to choose from! I have several, not that I use them much, so they end up as decorations!