graduation day

Standard

Alhamdulillah (praise be to God), my beloved hubby attained his doctorate last week on one of the most blessed Friday I’ve ever recalled in my life. For the past 3.5 years he’s worked so hard to make this day possible, there were times when he even thought it would not happen. Studying for a PhD is such a long gruelling process, I’m sure those who have been through it knows what it’s like. In his thesis acknowledgements he mentioned our 4 children and I by name, and thanked us for being there for him. I cannot describe how moved I am by this gesture. He also dedicated his whole work to his parents, another sentiment which touched my feelings, for parents hold the highest status in our Muslim tradition.

I feel very proud of my husband, I know how tough it’s been for him, and I’ve tried my very best to support him. But I know this memorable success would not have been feasible without the prayers of our dear parents, families, relatives and friends, both in the East and in the West. For that I would like to thank everyone from the bottom of my heart. I would also like to congratulate my dear sister in Malaysia for completing her PhD too recently, I’m very pleased for her and I know my late dad would have been doubly proud of both his middle daughter’s and son in law’s wonderful achievements. I look back to 15 years ago when I was supposed to pursue my PhD upon completing my Masters but opted to get married instead. I do not have the slightest regret to date for my heart was 100% inclined and focused towards becoming the best wife and mother, not studying for a higher degree.

It all comes down to personal choices at the end of the day, and what makes one happy and content in life. On that note, I end my post today by thanking God for His endless blessings, nothing is attainable without His love, guidance and mercy. As my hubby wrote in the beginning of his PhD acknowledgements, ‘My gratitude begins and ends with the Beneficent One, the only Reality, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful God.’ To family and friends and all Muslims reading this entry, I also wish you a blessed Ramadan, do forgive me for my shortcomings for I have many, remember my family and I in your prayers. And may God bless us all, regardless of our faiths and backgrounds.

happy chappy!

the woman beside the man

we are all very proud of you!

he never forgets whats most important

18 responses

  1. Congratulations, friend! And, selamat berpuasa to you and your family too.

  2. Assalamualaikum…congratulations :))))) akhirnya I can see both you and your hubby’s photo together, you still look the same as I remember you on your nikah day, masyaAllah :))))) Ramadan Mubarak to you and your family from us in the land far away..

  3. Congratulations to my dearest friend and hubby. Selamat Menyambut Ramadhan to you and family. Take care Pum. Love, Nini.

  4. So so happy to read this fabulous news! Alhamdulillah!!! May Allah bless you and your family and grant his blessed nur around you all always. I’m enjoying the songs too, so thanks for letting me know about them. So happy to get to know your blog

  5. though late..congrats to him and to the lady beside him and behind the blog 🙂 🙂

  6. Pingback: Best Follower Award « The White Pumpkin Light

  7. This must be one of the most important post ever for you, as far as I can feel. May You and Your Spouse Be Blessed. Sweetly written, mashallah.