midsummer joys

Standard

“Then followed that beautiful season…Summer….
Filled was the air with a dreamy and magical light; and the landscape
Lay as if new created in all the freshness of childhood.”
Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

“Give me the joys of summer,
Of Summer Queen so fair,
With wealth of lovely flowers
And fruits and sun-kissed air!

Talk not to me of winter
With ice and frost and snow,
Nor changing spring and autumn
When howling winds will blow.

No, I will take the joys
Of Summer every time,
So to this Queen of Seasons
I dedicate my rhyme.”
– Winifred Sackville Stoner

6 responses

  1. thanks moon! the flowers and fruits are from my garden, so’s the picture with picnic rug with toys (my girls’!) the sun-kissed air image at the bottom is from this lovely wetlands we visited.