autumn walk

Standard

Go outside and walk a bit, long enough to take in and record new surroundings.  Enjoy the best-kept secret around – the ordinary, everyday landscape that touches any explorer with magic.
–   John R. Stilgoe

Few people know how to take a walk. The qualifications are endurance, plain clothes, old shoes, an eye for nature, good humor, vast curiosity, good speech, good silence and nothing too much.
–   Ralph Waldo Emerson

I had been the sort of Easterner whose idea of going for a walk meant a short stroll in the park when the sun wasn’t too intense (early evening). Or a walk in one of the huge malls whilst window shopping. That’s where it began and where it ended really. On the other hand, my hubby here had gone for endless walks in the woods and up the hills as a young adult. My life changed over time after we got married, I finally knew the real meaning of going for walks through him. Back then it was just the two of us, now we have our four children joining us too. They love it every time; I like seeing their flushed faces and red cheeks as they run around exploring the surrounding nature. Mind you, there is always something new to discover!

You can read my earlier posts, Easter Break and Winter Walk to check out our previous walks, and of course our outings to the Cotswolds (Bourton on the Water, Bibury and Lower Slaughter) and city of Bath when my family visited from Malaysia. My 70-year-old mom walked for miles around without even realizing it! She truly enjoyed the beautiful landscapes and fresh air, it certainly did wonders to her health. The photos below were taken from our most recent walk a couple of weeks ago. This time around I went out with my English friends who also home-educate their children. These English women really treasure their walks, they never let the weather get in their way ever. We had such a lovely walk and our group of children certainly had a whale of a time! I love all my walks; be it a walk in the woods, by the river or up the hills. It always clears my head and makes me feel exceptionally good and cheerful for days afterwards, Alhamdulillah! 🙂

18 responses

    • thank you! it’s early autumn here so lots of greenery still…what’s the temp like during autumn in karachi? at the moment it’s abt 12c here, and much colder in early mornings and evenings.

      • Still hot in Karachi but the nights are getting relatively cooler…I guess the day temperature is still around 30..We will have 12c by the end of Novenber or early December!

  1. I love the pictures, Masha’Allah! I miss taking walks out in the woods and beautiful parks of the US! It is so calming and soothing to the soul.

    • thank you, glad you like the pics, especially as it brought back sweet memories for you. a good friend of mine from england who migrated to UAE often misses home because of the wonderful outdoors; greenery, beautiful landscapes and the opportunity to go for walks regardless of the season!

  2. Wow, love the huge tree! The paths you take look so rustic and inviting, I wish I were tagging along.

    • the huge tree in the first picture is a willow tree, there’s so many of them around in england…brings back memories for me reading enid blyton as a child, willow tree was featured heavily in her writing.

  3. Salam! I can feel the fresh air from here and can almost see the red cheeks on little people 😉 I love red cheeks on children too 🙂 they look so adorable 😉 Lovely picture here,so lovely..your heart belongs here with the people you love 😉 🙂 Enjoy your autumn,it may be cold but it gives more reason to hug and cuddle 🙂 🙂

    • waalaikumsalam zu, thanx for popping by…very windy today! Have to start wearing our winter coats soon…alhamdulillah, yes, home is where the heart is….doesn’t matter where we are, as long as we have our loved ones, we are happy! 🙂

  4. Akak! hahaha. Those photos are soo dreamy they make me think that you’re living in the neverland, if they ever to exists ahaha. Any chances of you coming back to malaysia, or a visit to jakarta perhaps?

    • nice of you to pop by again, thank you! 🙂 i suppose i am living in neverland then, as this pictures were taken in the woodlands about 20 minute walk from my home…nope, not returning home just yet…but you never know, Allah knows best! Would love to visit Jakarta one day, i have this lovely kakak here who hails from there…ever so warm and cooks such great food! 🙂