frozen world

Standard

The whole of England is blanketed in white as I create this post, a frozen world which would probably last for a good week or so at least. Nothing major like in Korea, Russia, Norway or Canada where the temperatures can dip to -30c, but enough to cripple the nation for a bit. Majority of schools were closed today and there were travel disruptions (both road and rail) everywhere. Many flights were also canceled at several airports due to poor visibility. Nonetheless, the situation did not stop many from having fun, in particular the children of course. Right after breakfast, my doorbell rang and a bunch of them stood there in their winter woolies, asking my children to join them outside. They had several hours of delight, throwing snowballs at each other and building their little snowman. Until they started to feel the cold creeping in slowly, especially as the snow softened and their socks and gloves got damp. I had the fire-place roaring away and prepared a little lunch for them all, whilst they tore away their wet attire and snuggled up into blankets and sat by the warmth, their cheeks and noses red and flushed.

They had a truly enjoyable time, and that’s what matters most, I love seeing them all happy and content afterwards. As for me, yes, the pleasure of defrosting the car and driving on the icy roads await, that’s the bit I don’t quite like. Also the fact I might slip and fall like I did before, when the snow freezes over and turns into slippery black ice, not much fun there at all! I’m just glad it’s the weekend, whereby I don’t really have to be mobile just yet. And I have enough supplies stored until my next major food shopping. Right, enough description of my frozen little world, I shall leave you with several images I’ve captured today, hope you will like them. Over and out, I’m curling up under my duvet now, there’s a blustery wind blowing out there! I’ll be thinking of my early spring, it doesn’t hurt to dream!!

our frozen car

our garden robin

winter garden

cold bunny!

our garden table

having fun

building snowman

hard work!

one proud little snowman!

18 responses

  1. and the weather report on my screen looks horrendous. Have nice hot tea, snuggle up under the Duvet with the little ones and watch a nice movie – bliss! Let the wind haul, it will only get better soon.

  2. Salam . Rosa harap moga tabah mengharungi suasana musim ni. Rasanya bagi yang tak pernah mengalami sekitran begini pasti teruja nak merasainya.Pasti ada seronok dan sebaliknya dalam merasai segala yang di cipta Allah.
    – Kak Haneem –

    • waalaikumsalam kak haneem, thank you for your kind and thoughtful wishes. memang kena tabah cuaca sejuk sebegini, alhamdulillah dah 16 tahun menetap di sini, suhu -3c sudah menjadi lumrah musim sejuk…bila balik malaysia rasa macam terlampau panas pulak…Alhamdulillah…sentiasa bersyukur nikmat Allah dan bersabar atas segala ujiannya…seminggu dua ni suhu paling tinggi setakat 2c sahaja…berbungkuslah bila keluar! πŸ™‚

  3. Salam..grrrrrrrr.. i can feel the coldness from here but somehow i always find snow is magical πŸ˜‰ I tak pernah experience heavy snow.The most was during our trip to Zurich from Frankfurt last time, while on the train the snow came down and it was so magical to look outside the window and seeing all trees, fields and roofs covered in white. While we went up to the Top of Zurich for my graduation adalah snow turun jugak tepi2 tu..dapat pegang sikit πŸ™‚ I saw your children having fun there despite the heavy snow and i love your fireplace very very much πŸ™‚ Take care and blow the snow to me from there πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

    • waalaikumsalam zu! thank you for popping by…more snow is falling now as i’m replying to your comment, i think this is the worse winter i’ve ever experienced since i arrived in this country 16 years ago. my son is hoping school will be closed again tomorrow, which is likely if it gets heavier over night! thanks for sharing your beautiful experience! πŸ™‚

  4. WEAR some blankets πŸ˜€ In the upside these things let you spend quality family time together, so use it to the fullest!

    • Thanks for your advice! πŸ™‚ The cold doesn’t quite get to me (guess I’ve acclimatised!), but the disruption does. I guess I should be grateful that I live walking distance to all amenities, so it’s not too bad when I’m not able to drive like usual. New band of snow falling as I’m typing this, 6cms forecasted over night, and the snow fall last Friday hasn’t all melted yet!

    • alhamdulillah mulan, it was great whilst it lasted, especially for the children, but the end is in sight now (i hope so anyway, Allah knows best) and i do wish for an early spring! πŸ™‚

  5. WOW! Those look like memories I would love to have before I pass from this world. The description of the kids playing out and you waiting to make them cozy by the fire place and lunch… I almost felt like i’ve lived it before! I’ve yet to see snow, but one day, I too want to have fun and come back in to be cozy wrapped in blanket by fire place with loved ones! Beautiful post πŸ™‚

    • hi there moon! i just read this comment of yours, so sorry, i must have missed it somehow!hope not to late a reply! i do hope and pray that you get to experience snow one day…it’s magical!

  6. I truly enjoyed reading your story. I was smiling the whole time. The pictures were lively and lovely. Poor bunny and that snowman was awfully thin. AHA! Great story. Thanks for sharing.

    • Hi there! Sorry, I just read your comment! Thanks for popping by! No, we don’t get enough snow here to make a proper snowman, but the children still managed to have some fun. Yes, our bunny had been cooped up for a bit during the snow, but he’s out and about now and happy once more! πŸ™‚