gujarat state

Standard

This is my final installment on India, in terms of batches of photos, I might however create random posts based on a photo or two in the near future. All the pictures were captured by my other half during his recent trip, do read mumbai city and memorable india to view my earlier stacks of photos. I have chosen photos taken around various villages and the city of Surat in the state of Gujarat this time. This was where my hubby had stayed mainly, back in the village of his ancestors in Gujarat. This trip has been a real eye opener for him. He realised how fortunate he’s been, for had his grandparents not migrated to Africa then England he would not be where he is now, having been highly educated and leading a fairly comfortable life. He is where he is at present through the sacrifice and hard work of his forefathers, there are no two ways about it. And for that he is truly grateful to them, Alhamdulillah.

There are many reasons why people migrate to other parts of the world; to escape poverty, for marriage, religious, education or work purposes. In my opinion, the whole world was created by God for us to explore and benefit from. As long as we work hard to earn an honest living and contribute to the society we live in, it does not really matter where we end up in as long as we are happy and content. Having said that, I don’t think anyone can forget their homeland ever, no matter where they migrate to afterwards. Enough said, do browse my photos for an insight into India through my hubby’s eyes, an unforgettable trip, deeply imprinted in his mind and heart.

puihd

fruit seller pushing his cart

nf[ijfe

village Hindu temple

hdpJHD

village Muslim mosque

HBPQHF

village woman washing clothes

bh

village women attending to their daily chores

lush village fruits

lush fruits at village

my hubby and his grand uncle at the village

my hubby and his grand uncle at their village home

h0ir[qi

huge textile store in Surat city

bpsqh

inside a textile store

hdpi

village school girls

h0shcS

camel cart in a village

hg0dh

busy cooks at a village wedding

hpsi

enjoying food served at a village wedding

hdp

hustle and bustle at train crossing near village

owduh

row of houses in a village

a cute village kid, a proud owner of those chickens behind him!

a cute village kid, a proud owner of those chickens behind him!

13 responses

  1. These are wonderful! When living in the west, we sometimes forget all the hard work the easterners put into every day of their lives, yet they have so much joy in the little they do have. Oh India, a place everyone should visit once in their lifetime. The boy at the end is adorable! These pictures are great! Thank you for sharing these three posts about your husband’s trip! 🙂

    • it’s my pleasure moon…yes, i would love to visit India too one day…it’s a real eye opener with regards to people and their lives…how hard many of them work to make ends meet…how proud they are of their culture and heritage…so many aspects to ponder upon and reflect…things that we normally take for granted.

  2. Salam. India is surely one of the countries with most richest cultures, abundance of colours and tradition. Drooling over the shop jual kain 🙂 🙂 Love your entry about your sister’s visit too..surely you miss her dearly 🙂 Take care.

    • Waalaikumsalam…thank you for popping by. Glad you liked the post…yes, India is quite a country, a mixture of old and new, rich and poor, past and present…hope to go there one day. Yes, I do miss my sister tremendously, my other sister and beloved mom too…my closest friends and my homeland! But I’m happy here, Alhamdulillah, I always count my blessings wherever I am…

  3. Thanks for sharing the wonderful photos. I visited India some years ago, and the pic of the textile store really brought back the memories.

    • My pleasure! Hope you had a memorable time during your visit to India. Textile stores, yes, they are a huge industry in Gujarat, Indian women just love their beautiful material, can’t blame them, they are lovely!

    • welcome back! my hubby went to india, not me. but inshallah, i hope to touch foot there someday! yes, my many pakistani friends here have been going back and forth to lahore, karachi and islamabad…and told me to join them, inshallah one fine day! 🙂