true friends

Standard

Let us be grateful to people who make us happy; they are the charming gardeners who make our souls blossom. – Marcel Proust

The most beautiful discovery true friends make is that they can grow separately without growing apart. – Elizabeth Foley

Friendship is a sheltering tree. – Samuel Coleridge

The only way to be a friend is to be one. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

true friends

When I first settled down in England as a married woman about 16 years ago, my focus was solely my husband. I did not think much about other people around me, I suppose I was a typical newly wed. Apart from my family, I only kept in touch with a handful of old friends from my homeland, those from my teenage years at boarding school and from my undergrad years at University. But as time passed by, I realised the need to make new friends, after all I was in a new land leading a different lifestyle. I could not possibly continue to pretend the friends back home would suffice. Naturally my friendship horizon then broadened, particularly when my children came along. As we all know friends come and go, especially as we grow older. We may meet a lot of people but only a few would leave a lasting mark in our lives.

16 years on, I can now say that I have several treasured friends in the West, in this land that is now my home. Two of these wonderful women now live in the Middle East, but they return to England whenever they have the opportunity. I was over the moon when a few of us met up again over the weekend on another glorious bright blue sky day. Even though time and distance have separated us, we connected as if we never parted. It is easy to lose sight of meaningful friendships amidst the hustle and bustle of life. As a wife and a mother, my top priority is my family and my household, a 24/7 job as everyone would know. But I try to make time for these special friends of mine, for they bring out the best in me. I value their advice, enjoy their company and treasure our memories together. Our families get along fairly well too, especially the children.

I would like to dedicate this blog post to them; thank you for sharing my life in England, for being there for me, for making me less lonely as the years rolled on. You are definitely one of my life’s greatest blessings. May our friendship continue to flourish and last forever. We listened to our favourite singer whilst chatting away at our picnic atop a beautiful hill! Alhamdulillah for the meaningful friendships throughout my life, though I may not be in touch with all, know that you will remain in my heart and prayers…

4 responses

  1. It’s great that you still connect with your friends and keep in touch. Most people lose contact with their friends and they are all in the same town. Great post and best of luck with everything 🙂

    • Hi there, thanks for popping by! Yes, I know exactly what you mean, I’ve experienced that too, friends get busy and move on, without any explanation at times. It used to bother me a little, but we don’t know what goes on in people’s lives, best to leave them be. They know where I am if they wanna say hello again! 🙂 I’ve learnt to focus on those friends that stick around no matter what…and those that I’m able to be around for.

  2. Yes, I believe that true friends don’t have to be around you all the time. They give you space, but when you need them, they will always appear at the right moment. Time and distance may separate people, but not the thought of each other.

    • So true! Thank you my dear old friend for popping by…and sharing your thoughtful comment. I feel a bit sad though every time a good friend leaves again…but then that’s the nature of life, people come and go, in and out of each other’s lives, nothing is permanent. It’s our thoughts and prayers for each other that keep us close, InshaAllah.