ramadan spirit

Standard

As mentioned in my previous post, Ramadan (the Muslim fasting month) is just round the corner. We have about a week left to go, but the Ramadan spirit can already be felt even here in England. This was what we experienced in Birmingham, the second largest city in the UK, which has one of the largest Muslim population in the country. Many of the areas there remind me of back home! We had the pleasure of visiting Birmingham again over the weekend, we were there mainly to attend a talk at a mosque. Some sort of spiritual upliftment is necessary in preparation for the blessed month dawning soon. However, we also took the opportunity to do some shopping to stock up for Ramadan. We’ve always enjoyed shopping there, simply because there’s more variety and we’re able to find many Eastern foods and goods that we like. Therefore it was a fruitful weekend in Birmingham indeed for us as you can see from the photos I’ve selected below.

Anyway, Ramadan is a time for me to increase my faith with acts of worship, a holy month to be cherished. It is a time of spiritual reflection and self-improvement, time to take stock and become a better person. Hence, I would like to take this opportunity to wish all Muslims across the world Ramadan Mubarak. And to family, relatives, friends and acquaintances reading this post, I hope you will remember my family and I in your prayers in this blessed month, as you will be in mine. To the rest of my readers and followers, take good care for now and keep smiling wherever you are! Count your blessings! 🙂

(Come share our Birmingham experience!)

outside a supermarket

let’s choose some fruits!

let’s get a melon too

dates for Ramadan

these ones are good papa

my girls

let’s stock up

let’s load the car first

off to another store

huge pots!

some new plates?

papa’s favourite aisle

girls looking at henna cones

more stuff outside

let’s get some new scarves

off for a bite to eat

clothes store

halal food everywhere

our favourite restaurant

my girls gazing across the street

people watching

my lil one

my family

off to the mosque now

hubby and I

 

19 responses

  1. Ramadan Mubarak kak..love your garden..harap bunga2 dkt rumah semekar di halaman akak..greetings from msia.. 🙂

  2. ramdhan kareem dear.. 🙂 so happy to read your blog after such a long time.. hope u doing good and all is well..!! mashaallah your kids have grown.. 🙂

    • ramadan kareem to you too! good to have you back, hope all is well with you and family…and life in general! ramadan’s the best time for us to recharge our batteries! your boy has definitely grown too…take good care okay and thanks for reading my blog again!

      • Sure😍😍😍 it was my pleasure!! So true ramdhan is the best

  3. Salam. Slmt meraikn Ramadhan. Smg ts Ramadhan is even better thn d previous ones. Amin. Lots of love fr Sarawak