nostalgic ramadan

Standard

Hello everyone, feels like I haven’t blogged for ages, in reality it’s just gone over a week. I’ve been busy this Ramadan, but it’s been really good, Alhamdulillah. Even though it’s a rather long fast for us in England (18 hours), coupled with the hot spell we had for the first 2 weeks, we have managed well and simply love our Ramadan routine. We’re in the last 10 blessed days now and I feel a pang of sadness creeping in knowing that this special month will soon leave us. I also feel nostalgic at this time of the year (the Muslim months of Ramadan and Shawwal) because inevitably my thoughts will revert to my beloved dad who passed away on the 1st day of Shawwal (Eidul Fitr) back in 2001.

He suffered from a terminal illness throughout Ramadan 2001 and finally left us along with this blessed month that year. My beloved dad had always loved Eid, the celebration that comes after our 1 month’s fasting in Ramadan. He was always excited about Eid and even towards the end of his life he begged the doctors to release him from hospital, he needed to get home to celebrate Eid. He was going home, he said. And he did, he returned to his Creator, God the Almighty on the day he loved most.

I was tidying up the other day and found an old photo album containing photos of Eid in my homeland Malaysia when my dad was alive in the year 2000. I had to choke back my tears when I saw his photos, he was smiling radiantly in all of them, especially the ones with his grandson, my eldest child. My father really adored his grandson since the day he was born, particularly so as he only had daughters. Eid has never been the same ever again for my family back home, i.e my mother and two younger sisters. But life goes on as they say, and I know for certain my late dad would want us to carry on and smile without him. The sweet memories remain, he is still within each person; my mom and sisters, his siblings and extended family, my husband and children.

To all Muslims reading this post, I hope you’ll take a few seconds to read Al-Fatihah for my beloved dad in this blessed month of Ramadan, may God bless you. I leave you with a few pictures from my old photo album; of my hubby, my son, my closest friends and myself. However, I cannot bring myself to publish our photos with my family in Malaysia back then, for my dad was in each one of them. I love you so very much my dearest beloved dad, always and forever. My thoughts and prayers in this blessed month are with you and the others who have left this world, rest in peace.

hubby and I on Eid in Malaysia, with our first born, our only son

hubby and I on Eid in Malaysia, with our first born, our only son

with my closest friends at my family home

with my closest friends at my family home

my dad may have left me, but I still see him in my beloved hubby and son

my dad may have left me, but I still see him in my beloved hubby and son

8 responses

  1. Salam utk Rosa . Kenangan silam memang amat sukar dilupa dan saat itu tak akan mungkin berulang kembali. Al Fatihah untuk aruah yang telah kembali ke penciptanya.Selamat menjalani ibadat puasa moga kita semua mendapat keberkatan dibulan yang mulia ini.
    ~ kak Hanem ~

    • waalaikumsalam kak haneem, terima kasih sudi singgah di blog yang serba sederhana ini. terima kasih juga sedekah Al-Fatihah buat ayah tercinta…semoga Kak Haneem sekeluarga dirahmati Allah berlipat kali ganda di bulan yang mulia ini…remember me and family in your prayers.

  2. moga roh arwah tenang di sana..tetapi kenangan tak akan pernah hilang, biar apapun ia, selamanya akan tetap menjadi kenang-kenangan terindah buat kita semua.. 🙂

    • betul tu yana…i agree totally…terima kasih sudi singgah…semoga yana sekeluarga diberkati Allah selalu especially in this blessed month…remember us here in your prayers.

  3. My father also dah tak ada. Bulan puasa selalu terpandang wajah orang-orang yang kita kasihi yang sudah tidak ada. Al-fatihah to all of them.

    • so true…we tend to miss them most at this time of the year…in the blessed months of Ramadan and Shawwal. Al-Fatihah to all our beloved who have passed away…