summer trail

Standard

Hello everyone! I just returned from a lovely walk in the woods with my good friends and their children, I feel rejuvenated! Just what I needed at the moment, a long walk to clear my mind. I feel more like myself again, all that ‘longing’ I felt for my homeland during the recent Eid celebration has disappeared, thank God. I cannot go on moping around can I, this is what my life is like now and I must embrace it with widely open arms. To live whole heartedly in this land that is now my home!

We were fortunate to have found rows and rows of blackberries during our walk, quite early this year to be honest. We normally find them in early autumn, mid-September thereabouts. We all spent some time picking blackberries, hoping to make jams and pies out of them. Looks like we don’t have to go to the farm this year for berries! Our children had a good time as always, the summer holidays here tend to stretch a bit (6 weeks). An outing on a sunny day is an opportunity not to be missed!

I also feel our children today need to get out more, it’s unhealthy to be stuck in front of the modern gadgets/apps! I just love the end of summer, the transition from summer to autumn is a wonderful period. It’s also extra special because it’s my wedding anniversary and my 3rd child’s birthday (yes, on the same day!). So much to look forward to as I spend these last few weeks of summer! I leave you with several images from our summer trail, take care till next time!

the lil ones heading off for their walk

the lil ones heading off for their walk

away they go!

away they go!

blackberries!

blackberries!

loads of them!

loads of them!

my lil one picking blackberries

my lil one picking blackberries

my youngest two busy picking blackberries

my youngest two busy picking blackberries

there's more here!

there’s more here!

my older two doing their bit

my older two doing their bit

that's me! we didn't have any container, so had to collect them in our crisp bag!

that’s me! we didn’t have any containers, so had to collect blackberries in our crisp bag!

on with our walk

on with our walk

children enjoy being out in nature

children enjoy being out in nature

admiring the wild summer flowers

admiring the wild summer flowers

we trailed by the river

we trailed by the river

my anniversary child with her good friend

my anniversary child with her good friend

simply enjoying their childhood!

simply enjoying their childhood!

they simply love the outdoors!

they simply love the outdoors!

last bite of blackberry!

last bite of blackberry!

my girls walking back happily

my girls walking home tired but happy!

our blackberry pie straight from the picking, perfect with vanilla ice-cream!

our blackberry pie straight from the picking, perfect with vanilla ice-cream!

 

8 responses

    • we certainly had a great time! especially pleased with the blackberry pie I made as well, worth every effort of picking them! I’ve included the pic above.

  1. AoA.i have nominated you for the A blog award :)http://mahamn.wordpress.com/2013/08/23/radical-oscarsthe-wordpress-family-awards-also-overly-dramatic-me/

  2. Salam sis,
    Aktiviti mcm ini mmg paling Yana suka,dulu2 Yana rajin bawa anak2 ke sungai,bukit dll..nanti Yana cuba repost balik entry itu..rasa rindu pd kampung sendiri mesti akn sentiasa hadir..dan akhirnya YAna rasa..dimanapun kita..kemeriahan Syawal itu kita sendiri yg akan interperestasi akn dia..Selagi doa org2 tersayang sentiasa meniti di bibir mereka,insyaAllah kita akn sentiasa dekat di hati masing2..

    • waalaikumsalam yana, thank you so much singgah my blog and leaving me positive encouraging comments, means a lot. i agree 100% with you, doa orang2 tersayang amat berharga, it keeps us going in this life, no matter where we are.

  3. Aslmkm Hibiscus Rosa Noor..
    Glad that you are feeling better from the Raya blues..I did feel the same thing when my Hb got sicked and we had to Raya without going back home to kampong..Well, and now after 3 years I have come to term with it..Alhamdllh. And syukur..we still have our loved ones to celebrate with.
    Have a productive week!

    • thank you so much for sharing your experience! Alhamdulillah I am feeling much2 better now, especially after a week’s holiday by the beach, will blog about it soon!