goodrington sands

Standard

Much happiness is overlooked because it doesn’t cost anything.

It’s not how much we have, but how much we enjoy that makes happiness.

 The richness I achieve comes from Nature, the source of my inspiration.

That man is richest whose pleasures are cheapest.

Let’s get a move on with the rest of my holiday pics, shall we? I feel this dire need to blog about it, especially now as I’m back in the midst of the hustle and bustle of life. The one aspect I really loved about my holiday was the simplicity of it all. I’ve never been a material girl living in a material world, have always been happy with a simple flower bouquet filled with love! Now in my 4th decade I shun it all the more, I seriously do not find peace and comfort in excessive materialism. That does not mean I do not appreciate a good stuff when it comes along, I’ve always cherished everything I’ve got, the value however doesn’t matter. As long as they’re genuinely from the heart, not as a means to gain praise or as public display which I greatly detest. This holiday brought my family and I closer to nature which we love. This is our kind of holiday, away from any major shopping in the consumer world we live in today. We’re already blessed with a lot, how much more do we actually need? Only to abandon them all behind when it’s time for us to leave this world?

There’s been a couple of rather sudden deaths here recently, of two women I knew. Very sad for those involved but served as a reality check for me. I want to live as simply as possible for the rest of my life and focus on what matters, InshaAllah. Right, enough chattering for now, check out our photos below! They were taken at Goodrington Sands, about 15 minute walk from our holiday park. We strolled through the woods behind our caravan site, which was wonderful in itself. We got a bit lost in the dense of it on the way back but that only added to our excitement and collection of memories when we look back in time. Will post our outing to the pier next, so stay tuned! And to fellow Malaysians who read this blog, feel free to pop me a line or two now and then, I don’t bite! I can still write in Malay too, so all are welcome. I’m still very Malaysian at heart so it’s always nice to hear from you. To the rest who have commented regularly, thank you very much, I truly appreciate it. Take care! 🙂

10 responses

  1. now I KNOW I have to get myself across the pond! Great photos! Those beach huts are so uniquely british, yeah?

    My daughter and I have tentative travel plans for spending 2-3 weeks in England next July/Aug. We’re full steam ahead (ha! just like your train!) saving money and researching everything. She and her fiancé spent 10mos traveling the world but never got to the UK so this will be a first for both of us!

    • of course you must visit the UK, you will find everything here minute though compared to the US! 🙂 A trip down the coast of Devon and Cornwall is a must if you can, fish and chips taste really good there as well as their cream teas. be prepared for the weather though, it can change any moment regardless of season! and try to visit the Cotswolds too, I have several posts on it!

  2. You are so right when you say life has given us so much already! Its no use to keep on collecting material goods when we know that we will hv to leave all these behind! Your blog encourages to write something about my recent visit to Turkey. It was a great holiday and I have got some wonderful pictures as well!

    • salam, good to hear from you again! i’m glad i’ve inspired your next post, look forward to reading it! yes, we are blessed with so much already in our lives, but we always want more and more, such is the nature of human beings. i write as a reminder to myself mainly, it’s nice when others can relate to it though.

  3. Dear Rossa Noor , Sangat setuju dengan apa yag ditulis tu, bahagia ada bebagai cara yang Allah sediakan untuk setiap orang dengan cara yang berbeza.
    Manusia Allah telah sediakan bahagiannya.. bersyukurlah dengan apa yang kita punya, nescaya Allah akan menambah nikmatnya..kerana bahagia tu bukanlah apabila kita mendapatkan apa yang kita idamkan tetapi bahagia itu terasa bila Allah menghadirkan rasa bahagia itu walaupun pada jalan yang berbeza. kerana, RASA BAHAGIA ITU KURNIAANNYA.”
    – kak Haneem –

    • thank you Kak Haneem, I always love your inspiring comments! memang Allah dah bagi kita banyak sangat nikmat, tapi sebagai manusia kita tak pernah puas, always want more! itulah kena bagi peringatan pada diri sendiri, dan bila kita lihat keliling semua ciptaan Tuhan yang sempurna kita rasa amat bersyukur dengan segala nikmat yang di beri…Alhamdulillah.

  4. Salam sis Rosa Noor,
    Betul apa yang akak kata,Yana sendiri bila berada ditengah2 consumer world selalu rasa isolated,selalu fikir,ahh..this is not the kind of life that suits me anymore..though I was brought up in Johor Bahru..tapi bila dah semakin dewasa..hidup berdamping dengan nature lebih sesuai buat Yana & keluarga..aktiviti kami lebih kurang macam akak..laut,hutan..bukit..bila balik Msia jemput ke kampung Yana ya!

    • wslm yana, thank you for inviting me to your village, terharu kejap! 🙂 yes, people often seek happiness through materialism, they last only a while. before they know it they’ll be after the next best thing that’s in the market, or that their neighbour just bought. happiness can be found in many other ways, through nature for instance. it’s free and the pleasure stays with you for a long time afterwards…

  5. Asalam Hibiscus R.Noor..
    Thank you for the reminder..It’s true what you said, being materialistic lead us no where. One day we shall leave all behind only our good deeds that will take us to Jannah..In sya Allah.
    Love to see you and family having quality times during the holidays.

    • wslm, thank you for popping by…glad you liked my pics, there are so many beautiful places in England, I will share them with everyone back home as much as I can! it’s true what you said, we all have to remind ourselves to be moderate in life; sometimes we go all out seeking happiness by buying all sorts we don’t really need, only to be bored with them shortly after. through my holiday I realise that happiness doesn’t cost anything at all, through nature you find peace and tranquility which last a long time.