ancient oxford

Standard

Hello again everyone! Finally a chance to write properly in my blog, been so busy with this and that! Sometimes I wish I was back as a single woman in my late teens or early 20s, I would have had ample time to devote myself to blogging! But then my life experience would be limited still, as compared to now! Anyway, let me update you with what’s been happening of late. My biggest daughter did rather well in the grammar school entrance exam in early October (Alhamdulillah), we are all very pleased and happy for her. That’s one hurdle out of the way for me, for I feel that my efforts in home educating my children at primary level have paid off when they manage to gain a place at a top grammar school. Education is really competitive these days all across the world, so I have to prepare my children as best possible.

Therefore it was a great privilege for us to visit Oxford when my in-laws came over after Aidil Adha at the weekend. If anything I see it as a way to encourage my children to aim high in life through education. The weather however was not on our side, the heavens opened just as we began our tour on the open top bus! But I still managed to snap away, although not as many as I had hoped to. Never mind, a return trip to Oxford is a must in the near future, especially with my dear sisters who I know would love it as much as I did. It’s an unforgettable experience altogether, a step back to ancient times. The older colleges at the University date back to the 13th century! And bear in mind Oxford University doesn’t have a single campus – it’s spread all over the city and consists of 38 separate independent colleges and hundreds of faculty and department buildings. You need good footwear and a whole day to explore, open-top bus tour doesn’t really do Oxford justice! I leave you with several images from my Oxford trip, Inshallah (God Willing), I will have more pictures of better quality when I visit next time!

4 responses

  1. Very good pictures! really loved them and the post is in itself very interesting! I wonder how you manage to write so frequently 😦 … I am afraid I can not squeeze out time and ideas just come and fleet away!

    • thank you! 🙂 Oxford was something else, that’s for sure. Just visited your blog, you have written a great deal more than me! My posts are often very brief; just to share random photos, quotes, songs, poems, thoughts, feelings and experiences as they come along…nothing major! I guess that’s why I can manage to blog weekly.

  2. Funny you mention Oxford since a classmate of mine just told me she was there this past weekend. But I don’t think she was aware that there were multiple buildings spread all over since she told me it was quite small! Lovely pictures, will need to get myself there at some point. 🙂

    • Hello Lillian, hope you’re doing well and keeping up with your Masters, hectic for sure, still remember mine! You must visit Oxford before you return home for good, I would highly recommend it. Do some background reading before you head out, make sure you cover all the major sites of the prestigious University. Well worth it especially if you’re into ancient buildings and traveling back in time like I am. The gardens are lovely too, must go in good weather though!