fallen leaves

Standard

I am truly inspired by glorious autumn at the moment, natural beauty all around every corner I turn! I go crazy on poems as a result of this, one of the best tools to release all the emotions I feel inside. I hope you will like one of my favourites below. The autumn days are now shorter (sunset around 4ish) and the gusty winds howl angrily each time which tends to scare me a little. The days are definitely getting drearier and colder (9-10c), I wrap up warm with copious cups of tea to keep me going. Nevertheless, I would like to wish everyone a happy November and to all Muslims, a blessed 1435 Hijrah (new year in our lunar Islamic calendar). I’m taking a wee break from blogging (just to catch up on other matters), do read my previous autumn posts, including those between Sept-Nov 2012. Better still, read all my posts whilst I’m away! 🙂

FALL, LEAVES, FALL

Fall, leaves, fall; die, flowers, away;
Lengthen night and shorten day;
Every leaf speaks bliss to me
Fluttering from the autumn tree.

I shall smile when wreaths of snow
Blossom where the rose should grow;
I shall sing when night’s decay
Ushers in a drearier day.

Emily Jane Brontë

autumn leaves by our local park

autumn leaves by our local park

6 responses

  1. Lookin at your post teringat sangat…down memory lane, this lovely song

    ” The Autumn Leaves” by Nat King Cole…

    The falling leaves drift by the window
    The autumn leaves of red and gold
    I see your lips, the summer kisses
    The sun-burned hands I used to hold

    Since you went away the days grow long
    And soon Ill hear old winters song
    But I miss you most of all my darling
    When autumn leaves start to fall…..

    • thank you for popping by my blog! yes, I love that song too…memorable indeed. you can listen to it in my blog post ‘autumn leaves’ dated sept 19, 2012.

  2. It was more than 50 years ago, happy and carefree days – the walks in the parks and up into the forest. Can I think of a time better, beautiful and more romantic than autumn? But in my autumn days now I have to prepare for my days which are sure to come.

    • thank you for sharing your memorable experience, such an honour indeed to have you commenting on my blog, thank you. yes, we will all go one day, we’re mere travellers passing through this temporary world, but we aim and strive to do our best whilst we’re still around. your blog is an inspiration, i’m glad to have discovered it.