true love

Standard

I don’t need a reason to share the classic song below, but I have a few. Number one, because my dearest hubby loves it, which I only found out when it played at the cafe we were at recently. Number two, because I’m missing my hubby heaps, we’re temporarily separated by the oceans and continents. Number three, because it reminds me of my dear uncle (in his heyday), who I have prayed for day and night for the past week. Alhamdulillah, he’s on the slow road to recovery, I shall continue to pray for his health. Number four, because my hubby said I’m the greatest blessing in his life, after his faith. Which made me reflect on love, what is love actually? Is it merely a word to make the other person happy?

No, true love is pure commitment and sacrifice. True love is how I saw my parents before my beloved dad left this world. True love is what I see in my uncles’ and aunties’ long lasting marriages. True love is loving the other person unconditionally, straight from the heart. True love is what you experience after going through the ups and downs of life together. True love is what brings you nearer to God the Almighty. True love is what a close family unit share with one another. True love is standing by each other through thick and thin. True love has kept me in England for almost 17 years. True love is the reason I am still here.❤

I shall continue to stand by him, Inshallah

(England, autumn 1997) I shall continue to stand by him, Inshallah

6 responses

  1. My goodness. If true love necessitates, or is defined by all those, I give up! I could , on the other hand, be having a different sort.

    All the best to you and your love.

    • you are pulling my leg here right, for someone who’s been happily married for almost 50 years, you must know what true love really means. i should take a leaf out of your book! 🙂

  2. How wonderful to have a solid partner and companion in your husband. Your example teaches your children about respect and committment and gives them a great foundation for choosing wisely in their own relationships.
    I love everything about this post!