goodbye uncle

Standard

Death ends a life, not a relationship.

To live in hearts we leave behind is not to die.

When someone you love becomes a memory, the memory becomes a treasure.

Today is one of the saddest day of my life after a long period of time. Well, 12 years to be precise. On the day my father died about 12 years ago, I went around like a zombie sorting out his funeral. Right from the moment he breathed his last up to the time he entered his grave. I still remember every minute detail. I am reminded of that very day again when my beloved uncle passed away this morning in my homeland, Malaysia. My dear cousin had updated me daily of his father’s condition since his heart operation several weeks ago. He showed positive signs of recovery at one point, but went downhill afterwards and deteriorated. To God we belong and to Him we return. That is our belief in Islam. Our existence in this world is temporary and fragile, we live in hope that we shall be reunited with our loved ones in Heaven.

My late father was also 64 when he passed away 12 years ago, like his younger brother today. I still remember how my uncle rode on his motorbike almost every other day (60 miles to and fro) to hold my dad’s hand at the hospital. I remember how genuinely sad he looked when he realised his older brother was dying. I remember how he had helped to bathe and bury my dad. I remember the few phone calls and the Eid celebration cards to him when I first lived in England. I remember my visits to his house, with my British born husband and in-laws. I remember how he welcomed me with open arms, how he missed his older brother and was happy to see him through me. I remember how fond he was of my first-born son, my only child when my dad was alive.

I remember how handsome he looked when he was young, I remember attending his beautiful wedding. I remember his passion for oldies music, I remember a lovely black and white picture of him smiling with a guitar in hand. I remember a lot of things about him, but most of all I remember him as a wonderful uncle to me. I will never forget you my beloved uncle, I pray that you will be amongst the pious in Heaven. I pray God keep your entire family strong during this very emotional time. I pray that we will all meet again one fine day. Goodbye Uncle, rest in peace, you are home now. I love you forever…❤

hpj

happy times; my late uncle with his wife during their daughter’s engagement

my beloved uncle, forever missed

To all Muslims reading this post, please take a moment to read Al-Fatihah (the opening chapter of our Holy Book, The Quran) for my beloved uncle. Thank you, may Allah reward you all.

24 responses

  1. Inna lillahi wa Inna Ilaihi Raji’un, May Allah forgive his sins and may he have a place in Jannah inshAllah. May Allah give you sabr sis

  2. My sincere condolences, Hibiscus Rosa. I myself found out a few days ago that one of my favorite aunts passed away. I’m still deciding whether or not I want to write something in honor of her but your post to your uncle is a truly wonderful tribute. Wishing you and your family all the best during this difficult time.

    • I’m so sorry for your loss Lillian. Thank you for your kind thoughts and wishes. Go ahead and write about your aunt if you feel like it, it does help ease the pain a bit.

  3. Salam Takziah untuk semua keluarga yang semestinya dalam kesedihan dan kehilangan . Semoga aruah di tempatkan dikalangan golongan orang yang soleh dan dipermudahkan segalanya. Al Fatihah buatnya.
    – kak Haneem –

  4. Very touching!It is really hard to learn about the passing away of a near and dear one when you live abroad! May your uncle’s soul rest in peace and may Allah help you and your family to bear this loss with patience.. Ameen!

    • thank you so much for your thoughts, wishes and duas. yes, being thousands of miles away is very hard at times like this, I wish I could have been there with the grieving family, though painful, it’s important to be there for one another, it makes us stronger. Unity is strength.

      • Your post reminded me of my mother’s sudden death, nearly 16 years back. I was in Karachi Pakistan and she was in Dhaka Bangladesh. The pain of not attending her last rituals kept tugging at my heart for years!
        If possible read my blog The Final Goodbye… maybe you will feel a bit better when you know there are many people who have gone through these painful times.

  5. Salam. So sorry for your loss. AlFatihah to your uncle. I am deeply touched and I still could not stop crying ;’-( Stay strong and take care

  6. My takziah over the sad departure. Detik detik inilah yang patut memberi peringatan kepada kita siapalah kita. Apakah yang kita hendak megahkan? Pentingkah segala pujian yang ditaburkan semasa hidup kita – akhirnya cuma taburan bunga diatas bumi? Yang lebih berpangkat, berkebolehan, berkepakaran dan mempunyai kekayaaan pun semuanya berakhir. Bersabarlah.

    • so true pakcik Al-Manar, so very true. death is the ultimate reality, this life is but a blink of an eye, an illusion really. Inshallah we shall continue in striving to do our best in pleasing God the Almighty till the day we leave this world.