victorian cottage

Standard

I’m feeling a bit melancholy at the moment, not surprising really as it’s dark and grey all the time! I sometimes wonder how the Victorians tolerated the bleak wintry days, mind you it was certainly harsher back then. Imagine a life without gas, electricity and proper vehicles! As much as we moan about the dreary winter days today; we’re snug and warm in our little homes, not to mention connected 24/7 to the world. Such was not the case in the old times. I was browsing through my old photographs and came across our visit to a countryside museum back in 2008. We had the opportunity to visit an old Victorian cottage and experience the lifestyle they had. It was very educational indeed, especially for my 3 older children (I had only 3 back then). I’ve always been a bit of a history freak, I love going back in time.

England is full of such places, the British preserve almost everything. Even my house is over 100 years old! As we looked through the photos, my youngest who is now 4.5 years old, said she would like to visit this cottage one day. And my older ones have forgotten many details from their visit 5 years ago. Inshallah, I hope we can return there someday soon for another visit. In the meantime, let me share some of our experience with you. We went there in the middle of autumn, I remember it being rather cold but breathtakingly beautiful. We completed the visit by taking a walk in the forest where the Victorians worked. It was truly lovely! Looks like the Victorians will descend upon us here real soon, like they do every year at this time. Do read my posts Victorian Encounter and Victorian Christmas from last year to understand what I mean. Do take good care!

outside the Victorian school

my girls in their Victorian gear

my 3 children and I outside the Victorian cottage

the reception room

the living room cum kitchen

the laundry room

the bedroom

the Victorians grew their own vegetables and reared poultry

at the nearby forest where the Victorian men worked

where the workers took shelter in bad weather

hubby and little one by the bridge

outside the museum with my cheeky ones

4 responses

  1. I promised to drop by when I had my wi-fi ack and it is. So here I am.
    You like to go back in time but how long can you at your age? When I loook back it means the time when I studied by a paraffin lamp, having a shower by a well, going out at midnight to ‘jamban’ (not quite a toilet we know today) in a shed with a lamp in hand to see the way , cutting firewood with an axe, drawing water from the well for mother to use in the kitchen etc,etc. Did your mum talk about that? Perhaps in Terengganu it was ‘special’.

    How lucky you and family are, able to enjoy the snow and the beautiful spring time. See my latest posting and tell your children. I am sure they all will say what a great it would be to have the flood to swim in ! So next year plan a holiday in the midst of monsoon in our east coast countryside for the kids to have fun.

  2. thank you for popping by pakcik al-manar! going back in time helps me appreciate where we are now, many events of the past help shape the good in the present time. floods are not confined to the east anymore, we experienced heavy flooding several years ago in my county. although my housing area wasn’t badly affected, we lost power and water supply for a short while, enough for us to realise how we take many things for granted in our life today. do remember us here in your doas pakcik!