christmas market

Standard

People don’t notice whether it’s winter or summer when they’re happy. Anton Chekhov

In the depth of winter I finally learned that there was in me an invincible summer. Albert Camus

While I relish our warm months, winter forms our character and brings out our best. Tom Allen

Greetings everyone! Hope you’re all well! Despite the lashings of rain and howling wind last Sunday, my hubby and I took our girls out to the Christmas Market which is an annual affair. However, presumably due to the bad weather, there weren’t that many stalls this time around compared to the previous years. The market wasn’t a Victorian themed one either, although there were still some ancient characters lurking about here and there, my youngest was spooked! My son wasn’t with us as he was out with his mates from school watching The Hobbit 2. We still managed to have a fairly good time, in fact it was refreshing to be out there in the cold for a bit. The festive Christmas atmosphere is certainly in the air, it brings cheer to the dull gloomy weather.

Anyway, I would like to take this opportunity to wish all those who are celebrating Christmas a lovely time. I don’t celebrate it but I look forward to the long Christmas/Winter break as it’s a time to unwind by the fire place with my loved ones. I leave you with some pictures I took at the Christmas Market and my favourite Christmas song from my teenage years. It was blaring away at the market, I still love it! And don’t forget to read my posts Victorian Encounter and Victorian Christmas from last year, especially if you enjoy a trip back in time like me! 🙂

festive despite the bad weather

hubby with our 3 girls

Xmas reindeer

gg

spooky characters from The Hobbit

hubby and middle daughter with Gandalf

speciality tea stall

closer look at the speciality tea

bought new winter woolies for the girls

love the warm scarves

lunch time

delicious aroma

roasted chestnuts

just the thing to warm us up

Season’s Greetings from hubby and I!

 

11 responses

  1. I went to a few Christmas/winter markets before I left London and I really enjoyed them! Funny, I swear I also saw the Exotic Tagine stall at one festival I went to and also had lunch from there! What are the chances it’s the same person running them? 😉 Wishing you and your family a wonderful holiday season/break!

    • I’m quite certain it’s the same person, he told us he was from London! 🙂 These vendors are not local businessmen, they normally travel to various cities in the UK during festive seasons to set up stalls. Their actual business could be based anywhere in the country.

      • That is so cool! Makes the world seem that much smaller, knowing we visited the same vendor (albeit in different places and at different times). 😉

  2. Dear Rosa..
    Wishing u n family all the best during the holidays and the festive season.

  3. Hi Rosa….i was there in London a few days ago but i had not experience the Christmas/winter markets.
    It could have been fun…
    Wishing you & family happy new year & many happy returns!

    • Looks like you’ve had a great holiday, just read your blog post! I suppose Christmas markets are more localised, you have to stay a bit longer and know the place well to know what’s going on…

  4. It is early X’mas morning here. Instead of snow it is heavy rain here where I am. More flooding is expected in two days’ time. But I prefer this to the cold and heavy clothing. Enjoy your X’mas atmosphere, young lady.

    • There was heavy rain and gale just before Xmas which affected the south-east and south-west England, leaving several areas flooded and without power. A brief respite over Xmas but more bad weather expected tomorrow onwards…