english breakfast

Standard

Food is for eating, and good food is to be enjoyed… I think food is, actually, very beautiful in itself. -Delia Smith

One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well. -Virginia Woolf

If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world. – J.R.R Tolkien

Hello again everyone, hope you’ve had a lovely weekend! As for us here, the sun managed to peek out briefly, enough for us to venture out for our full English breakfast at the local supermarket cafe. We tend to do so from time to time, just to get out for a bit particularly in the winter months. January is finally coming to an end now, you could say it’s the most depressing month in the year! Though February is usually much colder, the days also stretch a bit longer, more than the 8 hour sunlight we’ve had for the past couple of months. You don’t mind so much in December as it’s also the Christmas period, where everything around you seem so festive and cheerful. But come January, you just feel you’ve had enough of the winter months for sure!

Anyway, I’ve taken a few photos from our breakfast at the weekend to share with you. A typical full English breakfast normally consists of toasts with butter, fried eggs, baked beans, mushrooms, tomato, hash brown and sausages (vegetarian ones in our case). My hubby normally finishes everything quite quickly. I, on the other hand, tend to eat a bit slower. It’s quite a heavy going meal if you ask me, lasts for hours afterwards! When my sister visited me last winter I was supposed to take her out for a full English breakfast, but we left it too late and never got around to it. She’s still craving for it till today. But I keep telling her I would still prefer our Nasi lemak (traditional Malay breakfast) over the full English, even after almost 2 decades of living in England. Some things never change I suppose! πŸ˜‰

oi

a typical full English breakfast

another version of it

hot chocolate’s great for the children on a cold wintry day

my youngest two

npkm

bon appΓ©tit!

8 responses

  1. Looks Interesting! Over here in Pakistan the traditional breakfast is Halwa (a sweet dish made from semolina), Poori (which are rolled out pancakes made out of of flour and deep fried) and cooked Potatoes which we call Bhaaji. πŸ™‚ Or it may be Parathas with omelette! πŸ™‚

    • I’ve tasted all you mentioned above…delicious! My in laws made Poori when we stayed with them recently, was really nice. I guess every culture has their own version of a heavy going breakfast which lasts for hours! Thank you so much for popping by! πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, it’s nice to have a full English once in a while, I prepare it at home on some Sundays too, but eating out is a treat and it’s also a chance to get out of the house! Weather’s still cold, wet, dark and wintry here! Those are my youngest two children (the older two don’t like being photographed much these days), the most manja ones!

  2. I can really relate to the part about nasi lemak. Many mornings, when I wake up, I wish I could just go out and buy me a “bungkus” of nasi lemak, especially with a generous serving of sambal! πŸ™‚

  3. I love going out for a good breakfast and your pics illustrate GREAT ones; I’m salivating. πŸ™‚
    What a lovely photo of the girls, and your husband is one VERY handsome man!
    Your blog is always such a nice celebration of family. So refreshing!

    • Thank you so much for your compliments! πŸ™‚ I especially like the way you describe my blog as ‘a nice celebration of family’, it gives me inspiration for my future blog posts, thank you!