funeral day

Standard

After a horrible night of strong gales, we woke up to a fine bright day. It was Uncle Lionel’s funeral day. On the way to the church, I saw clusters of daffodils here and there, it’s a sign that Spring is well on its way. Such a glorious day (Alhamdulillah) but tinged with a bit of sadness as we paid our last respects to our dear neighbour, Uncle Lionel. He passed away so suddenly almost 3 weeks ago, the coroner confirmed that it was due to cardiac arrest, his 90-year-old heart had simply stopped. Somehow I feel a bit better knowing he had died in his sleep, not from a heart attack as everyone had thought in the beginning. There were about 30 people at the simple but beautiful service; Uncle Lionel’s relatives, his old friends, acquaintances, his former neighbour and wife (whose house we bought) and us; my hubby, our middle daughter and myself. I had to choke back tears when his coffin was brought in, followed by his relatives who were all teary.

His beloved grand-nephew (our age) whom we’ve befriended gave a lovely tribute, relating his sweet memories with his grand-uncle during his lifetime. I’ve also learnt today that Uncle Lionel was in the army during World War 2, he fought in the Far East. Makes me wonder whether he was in my homeland which was known as Malaya at that time. Before we knew it, the funeral service was over and a classical song which he loved was played whilst his coffin was carried out for burial at the cemetery. He was to be buried on top of his beloved younger brother who passed away 8 years ago. We then went out to pay our condolences to the mourners; his niece (in her 60s) and his grand-nieces who helped took care of him in his final years. His only grand-nephew then re-appeared (he helped carry the coffin in and back to the hearse) and shook hands with my hubby, he was really grateful that we had come. Uncle Lionel was a good soul, we’ve been very privileged to have him as our neighbour for the last 3.5 years. Our middle daughter, our most sensitive child, had said that she’ll ask God to grant her wish to see Uncle Lionel once again when she gets to Heaven. She truly misses him. Farewell Uncle Lionel, the precious memories shall remain. I shall never forget you and Winter’s end 2014…

,uh

the church where the funeral service was held

j[eof

my hubby and daughter as we arrived for the service

white lilies decorated his coffin

white lilies decorated his coffin (courtesy of Google images)

mg

leaving the church, a bit sad

he was in a hearse very similar to this one (courtesy of Google images)

he was in a hearse very similar to this one, daffodils have also appeared like in here (courtesy of Google images)

bou

to God we belong and to God we shall return

R.I.P. Uncle Lionel

Uncle Lionel shall be missed

UNCLE LIONEL’S FINAL SONG…

3 responses

  1. Reading this, I am pretty sure that he was such a good man.
    Take care, my friend!

    • He was a dear and respected gentleman, contrary to what the rest in the neighbourhood thought, that he was unfriendly. My only regret is that we took some time to warm up to each other as neighbours, I wish I had paid more attention to him for the past 3.5 years. Read my post ‘moon river’, it described the sort of relationship we had.

  2. Pingback: spring sunshine | greetings from england