spring sunshine

Standard

Everyday is a new life. Seize it. Live it.

Enjoy the little things in life, because one day you will look back, and realise they were the big things.

And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years…

The sun shone brightly last Saturday, you could say it was the onset of Spring! My hubby suggested we go out for breakfast again, our youngest came with us of course. My eldest son was away for the day, he took part in an inter-school debating competition. Though they didn’t win, it was a good experience for him, boosted his confidence as a debater. The team from Eton got top marks by the way, they were all dressed like Prince Harry too, according to my son! My middle two girls were at the local Saturday Arabic school, they go each week from morning to noon. So that leaves the 3 of us, this time around we sat to eat at the terrace overlooking the canal. Although it was only about 11c, I could feel the warmth of the sun on my back, it was a nice feeling. I no longer take the sun for granted these days, like I did back in my homeland many moons ago. When the sun is shining, make the most of it!

So off we went for a short walk by the canal afterwards. We saw some boats and barges, and a father and son fishing. There were others out for a walk too; some with their dogs, others with their children, a few old couples holding hands. The walk led us to a small woodland, which overlooked a new housing area. There was a playground there and my little one had a lovely time on the swing. I took some pictures via my mobile to share with you. I still miss Uncle Lionel next door, but I have a feeling that he would say this to me if he was able to speak now. “I have lived my life to the fullest my dear, for a whole 90 years, go and live yours the best you can.” And so I shall, Inshallah.

 

2 responses

  1. Like you, I’ve learned not to take the fleeting moments of sunshine here for granted. I guess that’s what happens when you come from a land of near-constant sun (Malaysia for you and California for me)…. once you leave that environment, you learn to cherish it. These days I feel happy if I can wake up and see sunshine streaming in, if only for a little while. 🙂

    • Hi Liiilan, thanks so much for popping by! So true…now you know why the Brits are so obsessed with the weather! 🙂 I’ve joined the club now, sipping a cuppa of tea on the terrace with a book in hand is a must when the sun peeks out…and the endless walks too of course…