english farm

Standard

Long about knee-deep in June,
‘Bout the time strawberries melt
On the vine. ~  James Witcomb Riley

Summer is the time when one sheds one’s tensions with one’s clothes, and the right kind of day is jeweled balm for the battered spirit. A few of those days and you can become drunk with the belief that all’s right with the world. Ada Louise Huxtable

There is something deep within us that sobs at endings. Why, God, does everything have to end? Why does all nature grow old? Why do spring and summer have to go? ~  Joe Wheeler

Greetings everyone! Hereby I would like to share my final outing before Ramadan, which commences this weekend. A bunch of us home educators took our children for an educational trip to the farm yesterday. I have taken my older ones to such a farm when they were smaller, but now I also have my younger two who are home educated as well. Children always enjoy hands-on education outdoors, beats sitting in a dull classroom lesson any day, particularly in the balmy summer heat! We have been getting plenty of warm sunshine lately, over the recent weekend my family have had 2 barbecues, we just had to eat in the garden! Mind you, it’s only around 21c at the moment, but I already feel as if it’s too hot! Don’t know how I managed the all year round 30c back in my tropical homeland Malaysia many moons ago!

After a briefing in a converted barn classroom (we sat on bales of straw), we were taken round the farm to see the crops they produced and the animals they reared. The highlight of the day was strawberry picking, there’s plenty around as the weather’s been really good of late. We walked a lot, but had the pleasure to sit in the tractor-trailer on the way back, the children really enjoyed the bumpy ride. We also had the opportunity to pull some vegetables from the ground ourselves; each of us took home some rhubarb, broad beans, carrots and strawberries of course. We had a truly wonderful day, I thought I might as well document everything here before I retire for the night. Hope you’ll enjoy my farm photo series! 😉

in the farm classroom, the ostrich egg in the back costs £17.50, equivalent to 24 chicken eggs!

that’s half of the group, walking by the broccoli plantation

broccoli still growing

asparagus

my younger two amidst the overgrown batch of asparagus

broad beans

broad beans definitely in season now!

carrots are so hard to dig up!

we finally managed to get a few each using huge farm forks

female ostrich up close, the one that lays the £17.50 egg!

feeding animal time!

the tractor trailer

beautiful setting by our barn classroom

I always love the summer floral display

let’s pick some strawberries and eat a few along the way!

my little one simply loved strawberry picking!

My middle daughter, she loves the outdoors

memorable growing up years with their good friends!

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses

  1. Salam. Seronok nya tengok hasil ladang ni. Pasti beri pengalaman indah buat anak2 . Salam Ramadhan semoga sama2 kita mendapat keberkatan bulan yang mulia.

    • Memang seronok Kak Haneem, I enjoyed it very much too! Salam Ramadan but Kak Haneem dan keluarga tersayang. Remember me and my family in your prayers.