ramadan memories

Standard

Memory is a way of holding onto the things you love, the things you are, the things you never want to lose.

Memory… is the diary that we all carry about with us.

To look backward for a while is to refresh the eye, to restore it, and to render it the more fit for its prime function of looking forward.

Ramadan brings back many old memories for me; I treasure the ones with my family most of all. It makes me pine away for my growing up years, of being one of my parents’ beloved daughters. As the first-born, I took the first steps in trudging through all of life’s milestones. I am supposed to be the ideal role model for both my younger sisters, it isn’t easy sometimes. The photo below is truly special, it was taken just before my family and I flew to London for my wedding. My late father insisted on it, as it was a tradition for us to have a family photo taken every couple of years or so. Little did we know then that it was to be our last formal family photo with our beloved dad in it. I miss him tremendously, especially when I feel down. Doesn’t have to be anything major, it could just be a particularly bad day. I recall one of my cousins saying that I will always find my way to Ipoh, Malaysia, no matter how far I am. Simply because my dad is buried there, therefore I shall always return to visit his grave…

I don’t like to be too sad when I think of my dad these days though, like I used to be in the beginning. For I know he wouldn’t want to see me miserable, he would want me to carry on with my life and focus on those around me. Even though my dad was a bit broken-hearted that I was thousands of miles away after I got married, he knew that I was happy. He could see that he had passed his eldest daughter into the loving care of a very good man, who would InshaAllah (God Willing) love me forever more. I am also thankful to God the Almighty that my beloved dad managed to see his eldest grandchild before he left this world. In fact, he was there in the early days when my son was born, and he played the doting grandpa for 2 years, as I flew home quite often back then. Sadly, he never saw any of his 3 granddaughters, I know he would have loved them. I talk to my girls (and my son) about him from time to time and pray that we will all be reunited in Heaven, InshaAllah.

I was inspired to blog this post by a Malay drama I watched online, entitled Ijab & Qabul. This literarily means Offer & Acceptance, which forms the Islamic Marriage Contract. When a Muslim couple agrees to tie the knot, the bride’s father (or guardian) will recite the offer to hand over the care of his daughter to the man who wishes to marry her. This should be done in front of reliable witnesses. The groom will then recite the acceptance of the offer. When the religious official along with the guardian and witnesses are satisfied, a prayer will be recited and the bride is then officially under her husband’s care. A woman’s status is very high indeed in true Islam, they are supposed to be cared for and loved like gems, no loving father wants anything less for his precious daughter. When my late father closed his eyes forever, I knew that he didn’t have any major worries regarding me. I left his house to get married, and I shall remain in my husband’s house till the day I die. Thank you papa for handing me over to one as wonderful as you. I truly miss you, you’re forever in my prayers. Ramadan and Eid not the same without you here, but we shall carry on, you would want us to be happy. You always loved the blessed months of Ramadan and Shawwal…

nfadm

my beloved family and I

ijab&qabul

ijab & qabul over me

Theme song from the Malay drama, Ijab & Qabul, very touching! It’s about the eternal love a husband has for his wife, regardless of her shortcomings. He’ll uphold the Ijab & Qabul he contracted, he will honour his promise to her guardian…

 

 

 

4 responses

  1. Salam. Rosa Noor,
    Sangat menyentuh perasaan dengan tulisan ini, sesungguhnya keberkatan dan doa ibubapa menjamin kebahagian kita. Tiada gantinya kasih sayang ibubapa didunia ini.