hari raya

Standard

We celebrated Hari Raya (Eid Day in my mother tongue) today, Alhamdulillah (Praise be to God), Allahu Akbar (God is Great)! I feel a tinge of sadness in waving Ramadan (month of fasting) goodbye. I remember complaining of how long the fast was this year, 19 hours! But I miss it now, we’ve all got used to the Ramadan routine. As trying as it was, it brought us peace and strengthened our ties amongst fellow Muslims. Our Eid celebration today was simple but memorable. After Eid prayers in the early morning, we wished each other Eid Mubarak. We greeted our neighbours too by exchanging Eid cookies and chocolates. We phoned our families and relatives and wished friends both near and far. I prepared the usual lamb biryani dish for my family, feels a bit odd to eat in day time again after a month’s fast!

Our children watched their favourite movies and played games, all dressed in their new Eid clothes. Unfortunately their close friends are away this year as it’s currently the summer holidays. Hopefully we will meet up with several others over the next few days. It’s always a quiet affair on the first day here in England unless you have your extended families close by. My mom was very emotional when we chatted today, she misses me badly on this auspicious day. My big daughter is currently a replica of me between the ages of 11-14, brings back memories of my growing up years for my mom. Makes me feel truly guilty for being so far away! I chose to be with my husband in the UK, had I thought of how much my parents’ hearts would break over the years by living thousands of miles away, would I still have married him? Yes, I would have, for I knew he was the one for me!

My only consolation is that my parents needn’t worry about me, even today my mom mentioned how grateful and happy she is to have a son-in-law who treasures her eldest daughter like a precious gem. I’m so sorry mom for upsetting you, by being 6,500 miles away from you! But you are constantly in my heart, mind and prayers. How I wish things were different, that we were geographically closer. But this is our fate, we have to accept it. Not everything in life goes our way all the time. We must keep focusing on the blessings, not our misfortunes. Always thank God for the good things in life, which can be taken away as easily as it comes at any moment. Alhamdulillah for this special blessed day, thank you God for everything you’ve given us. Eid Mubarak to all, wishing you peace and blessings today and always…

mgpds

Eid with my mom when my children were younger (my big girl and my second daughter)

pj[

my son seeking forgiveness from his grandma on Eid Day

our eid memories in my homeland

our eid memories in my homeland

me seeking forgiveness from hubby dearest

me seeking forgiveness from hubby dearest

seeking forgiveness on this auspicious day

my son seeking forgiveness from his papa on this auspicious day

my big daughter seeking forgiveness

my big daughter seeking forgiveness

my second daughter tends to get emotional

my second daughter tends to get emotional

and now we have our baby daughter too!

and now we have our baby daughter too!

Eid Mubarak to everyone! Praise be to God for this blessed day!

 

 

Comments are closed.