scotland part 1

Standard

Where do I begin, hundreds of holiday photos, which ones do I select to go with my blog posts? And you can never do justice to the photos, the experience is something else altogether. You have to be there in person to soak it all in! Let me just dive in and take it from there, yeah? Our first summer getaway was to Loch Awe, which is to the north west of Glasgow, Scotland. It took us a good many hours to get there by car, we made several stops in between. This was my first time to the Scottish Highlands, somehow my visits to Glasgow and Edinburgh in the past seemed pale compared to this wonderful trip.

Loch Awe is the third largest freshwater lake in Scotland, after Loch Ness and Loch Lomond (which we passed by on the way). It is certainly the longest, about 25 miles from top to bottom. We stayed in a forest lodge cabin about 200 yards from Loch Awe. My hubby wanted some peace and quiet, away from everyone and the hustle and bustle of life. We certainly got that there! All we could hear was the pitter patter of the rain, and oh boy, it did rain cats and dogs! We were well prepared however, I’m the sort who’s always checking the weather forecast. A bit obsessed with the weather like the rest of the Brits after living in England for almost 2 decades! I packed all our wellies (Wellington boots) and macs (rain coats), and that’s how we dressed throughout our 1 week stay there. Despite the not so bright weather, we still managed to have a very good time. We went for long walks, nature trails, loch cruise, castle tour, fly fishing and we had cream tea at an old manor hotel. I will try my best to blog about all these experiences!

Although there were about 50 cabins altogether at the site, they were set fairly apart so we hardly saw anyone. The locals were extremely friendly, always with a smile on their faces, ready to greet and assist you. The landscape was breathtaking, I fell in love with it instantly. Mountains, forests, waterfalls, streams, lochs, castles; beautiful countryside all around. To be honest with you, I wouldn’t mind moving there at all. But I shall have to change my blog’s name to ‘Greetings from Scotland’! I was a bit sad to leave Scotland at the end of our stay, but we had our Devon trip to look forward to so it wasn’t too bad. I’ve heard people say, you need another holiday after a holiday. Well, that’s what we did this year! Right, let me share some of my pictures with you now. This shall be my first Scotland series, watch out for my upcoming ones, more to come hopefully!!!

welcome to our forest lodge, well hidden and tucked away!

welcome to our forest lodge, well hidden and tucked away!

in our macs and wellies, studying site map by our lodge to plan our first walk

in our macs and wellies, studying site map by our lodge to plan our first walk

we walked by a stream

we walked by a stream

a quick pose with papa

a quick pose with papa

we ended going down some steps

we ended going down some steps

and found ourselves by the shores of Loch Awe

and found ourselves by the shores of Loch Awe

explored the cabin site, my 4 children enjoyed being out in the rain

explored the cabin site, my 4 children enjoyed being out in the rain

our enclosed garden, view of loch from our verandah

our enclosed garden, view of loch from our verandah

we slept peacefully in this 3 bedroom timber lodge, only sound was the calming rain

we slept peacefully in this 3 bedroom timber lodge, only sound was the calming rain

np

my early bird at breakfast the next morning, stay tuned for our next outing!

 

 

8 responses

  1. I loved Scotland when I visited in April with some friends. Even the cities felt different and much smaller and friendlier compared to London. The Highlands were a particular highlight and we were lucky to have someone drive us around to do some proper exploring. Looking forward to the rest of your trip photos! Now that I’m back in California, I do have to say I kind of miss the misty, gloomy UK weather. 🙂

    • Hi there Lillian, good to hear from you again! Have you completed your studies in London now? I wish you all the best in whatever you attempt next, will catch up on your blog soon! Glad to know you had the chance to visit Scotland particularly the Highlands, they are truly special. The lochs, forests, waterfalls, rivers, mountains; truly romantic and magical indeed. Yes, the gloomy weather is back for sure, August had the autumnal feel to it from beginning. Proper summer was back in June and July!

  2. Lovely post. I loved Scotland. I remembered my trip to the Scottish Highlands in winter 2006. Brings back memory. People are friendlier in Scotland. Ila.

    • Thanx for popping by Ila! Yes, people are definitely friendlier up there, they seemed happier too, always smiling! I truly feel like living there. But a getaway once in a while would be just as good!