weekly photo challenge : endurance

Standard

Endurance is not just the ability to bear a difficult thing, but to turn it into glory.– William Barclay

The men who learn endurance, are they who call the whole world, brother. – Charles Dickens

Nothing great is ever achieved without great enduring. – Catherine of Siena

Finally, as promised, my visit to Kilchurn Castle in Scotland. What a coincidence that this week’s WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge is entitled Endurance. Kilchurn Castle came straight to mind, it’s been there by Loch Awe for 6 centuries! It wasn’t easy to find, but we hunted high and low until we found it. And it was well worth it. However, these pictures I’ve taken won’t do you justice, you have to go there yourself to experience it all. Romantic, serene, breathtaking; it took us to a different level altogether, a step back in time.

I guess that’s just old sentimental me; easily moved by things rich in history and character, surrounded by natural beauty and serenity. I often blog about these themes along with family love and values which I regard very highly. Simplicity in life is my motto, so you would be rather disappointed if you were following my blog for luxurious home deco or regular fabulous cooking ideas! Let me guide you through my photos now, and do have a listen to the Scottish Highland music I’ve included at the end! A wake up song to set you for the week! 🙂

jmf[eqkf

our journey began; hubby and our 4 children ahead of me

,fge

that’s me, very excited to have found my castle!

r,gre \

my lil one by the entrance

mr[g

view from the castle ground

 /\


my 4 children exploring

jf[ew

view from the castle window, a 500 metres walk from the car park

kfge]w

one side of the castle

j-sejf

view from the other side

jfe[j

big sister and little sister having a short rest

m,fv]d

admiring the view by Loch Awe

g[ekrg

castle tower

,gh\er

my youngest never gets tired from posing for me

view of the whole castle

view of the whole castle from a distance

mg[er

seek and you shall find!

 

7 responses