autumn music

Standard

Simple pleasures are life’s greatest treasures…

You can have everything and still be miserable. Or you can have relatively little and feel very rich. Happiness is a state of mind. Develop tools for how to get it…

Live simply. Love generously. Deepest joy is like a flower, beautiful in essence…

Greetings again! Autumn is here, my favourite season! There is something melancholy about Autumn, I ponder and reflect more on life and people around me at this time of the year. We live in an age where leading a simple quiet life is frowned upon. It’s totally uncool and boring. It seems everyone’s competing to show off their latest assets, where does it end, I wonder? You will always be chasing after the next best thing, just because some other person will have something better. There will always be people in higher position than you, it’s best to count your blessings and be content with what little you have. Real happiness comes from appreciating the simple pleasures in life, like being out in nature. True happiness comes from establishing real connections with people whom you love and who genuinely love you in return. I emphasis on these themes throughout my blog, from the very beginning. And I shall continue to do so!

One of my close friends is in the UK at the moment, she’s just been touring Europe with her family. She shared with me some awesome photos. When I asked her whether she was going to share it on her social media, she said whatever for? It’s sufficient for her nearest and dearest to see the pictures. Hmm, I guess it all boils down to one’s intention at the end of the day. As long as it’s not to brag, or to compete with the Joneses, I think one should be okay. Otherwise one will never be happy, always looking for ways to outdo others! This is especially so for the younger generation of today, which is why I stress on my principles in raising my children. It’s the people that matter; the feelings you share, the way you treat each other, I constantly say. Material stuff has its place, certainly not for show! Even a simple wildflower posy is good enough if it’s given with lots of love!

Anyway, enough chattering, I must be off. After a gloomy start to the week, I’m getting rather busy. We will be celebrating Eidul Adha on Saturday here in the UK, I shall be cooking Rick Stein’s chicken biryani, InshaAllah. I have posted about it before, it’s tried and tested! I normally cook lamb biryani, but since I will be cooking a huge pot of Qurbani lamb on Sunday (for my close friend I mentioned earlier, yes, she will be visiting me!), I have to prepare something else! I would like to take this opportunity to wish all Muslims Eid Mubarak, hope you will have a lovely day, wherever you may be! To the rest of my readers, I hope you will like my few Autumn pictures below, along with the beautiful Autumn music!

Note to self: Children will not remember you for the material things you provided, they will remember you for the feeling that you cherished them…

autumn4

my youngest with her dearest friend

my youngest daughter and her best friend enjoying the simple pleasures in life

Eid Mubarak!

 

7 responses

  1. Indeed!…very true…in anything we should keep it simple!
    Your daughter…she’s so cute &…that friend of hers too!
    Eid Mubarak to you & family too!…..May we have a joyous day with our loved ones!

  2. love your family members to see here enjoying life mashaAllah. please do drop by sometime and read my blogs too and comment. I feel so elated to have come across your site. may almighty bless you forever ameen

    • Thank you so much…I will read your blog properly when I get the chance, have had a sneak preview of it! 🙂 I’m always happy to connect with people like you, with greater experience and outlook on life, so that I can learn more…have a lovely Eid!