let’s cherish!

Standard

People come into your life for a season, a reason or for a LIFETIME…

It takes a long time to grow and old friend…

A true friend loves at all times…

More on friendship! One of my close friends visited me again last weekend, the first time she did so was in year 2009. This is also a friend who goes back a long way, since boarding school when we were 12-13 years old. But we got real close when we lived together along with several others in an apartment after we graduated. We had fun together, but I got bored after a few years and wanted more out of life. That was when I decided to pursue my Masters degree in England. As excited as I was to embark upon a new adventure, I felt really sad in leaving my close friends behind. I still remember when we went out together for the last time, they treated me to a high tea at a hotel. I even found a picture of us together during that outing, you can see how forlorn I looked below. Oh yeah, the friend who just visited is the one sat next to me!

m,f\s

my close friends and I at my farewell tea party, Kuala Lumpur, 1996

Little did I know my new adventure was to turn into a lifetime one, for I never went back! I got married the following year and posted a wedding photo to each of my friends. I missed them heaps but life got busy, my children came along and the rest is history! But I kept in touch with them via email and we met up every time I returned for holidays. We continued as if we never left each other; we still shared our ups and downs. We’ve seen each other through tears and smiles, we know each personality that’s made us either happy or sad. We don’t judge each other, we advise and discuss matters together. These are the friends that I can call up at 3 o’clock in the morning, or who’s called me up at some ridiculous hour because we needed a woman to hear us out. I feel very blessed, Alhamdulillah, they are still in my life today. With the advancement of technology, I now chat with them almost everyday! I feel cherished because these friends still seek and value my friendship over 4 decades! Although we meet new people in our lives, not all remain close for whatever reason. I honestly believe that as we get older, the most meaningful friendships are those that have lasted the test of time.

 

m;'l,

with my close friend who visited me last weekend!

Although we look different now (we have all put on at least 20 kgs each!), we still see and treat each other as the teenagers we once were. It’s funny that, but it’s true! Somehow we can’t seem to erase that mental image we have of each other! Anyway, I just want to say thank you to all my close friends, including the rest who are not in the pictures I’ve posted on my blog so far. Thank you for keeping in touch all these years I’ve been in England. It means a whole lot to me! Let’s cherish our friendship and love forever with this song below which used to be our favourite back in the mid-80s! 😉

Cherish the love, cherish the life! Specially dedicated to those who continue to visit me in my humble home…

8 responses

    • Thank you Karen! I love heart warming posts too…I can never write enough about my closest friends, they make my life more beautiful. You seem to have had a wonderful time in England recently, will you return for another visit in the near future?

    • Thanx Ila, you need to thank my new blog adviser for that! 😉 You and Piza were out dating, probably? The rest of us were unattached then, you two were busy planning weddings. 🙂

  1. Thank you for being my friend, too! I love you dearly, my friend. Take care