festive december

Standard

“Frosty the snowman was a jolly happy soul,
With a corncob pipe and a button nose
and two eyes made out of coal.
Frosty the snowman is a fairy tale, they say,
He was made of snow but the children
know how he came to life one day.”
– Christmas Carol

I can’t believe we’re in December already, right in the middle of winter too! The days are so short at the moment, sunset at 4pm and sunrise at about 8am. I feel lethargic during winter, I have to find ways to stay upbeat! Fortunately there’s a few festive events locally at this time of the year, you can read my previous posts about them. We try not to miss the Victorian Christmas Market and the Festive Fayre, it’s just nice to be able to get out for a bit. I didn’t get a chance to snap too many photos this time around, I’ve shared loads in the past. Anyway, this year they had Anna and Elsa from Frozen at the Festive Fayre, much to my girls’ delight. Brought back memories of my own fascination with Snow White when I was about their age, my beloved father took my younger sister and I to a Disney pantomime in Penang, Malaysia. I don’t remember the details but I can still recall my excitement. To see my own girls’ happy faces with their favourite princesses was truly priceless indeed. I remember dreaming away just like they do, princesses are just part of a typical girl’s little life!

.g

my little ones with Anna and Elsa

Another character that was there was the Snowman. My youngest one didn’t quite like this particular Snowman (Frosty), her ideal one is the round bubbly figure from the famous Xmas Cartoon, The Snowman. She refused to have her picture taken with him, my middle daughter however had no qualms whatsoever. My youngest was furious to discover later that the Snowman actually stood behind her whilst she was posing with her sister. Although we were at the Fayre only briefly, we still managed to have a fairly good time. Guess we just have to make the most of the 8 hours of daylight we now have!

u6u

my middle daughter with Frosty the Snowman

yery

Snowman entered the frame too!

Christmas is certainly in the air now, my older children are looking forward to the winter holidays, they break from school at the end of this week. It’s not very nice going to school in the dark and returning home in the dark again, pretty gloomy really! My big daughter (12) is already planning to bake us all sorts during the holidays, she loves pottering about in the kitchen when she’s not busy with school work. She made us a delicious pudding at the weekend, I’ve included the picture below. We’ll have the fire-place roaring, with plenty of desserts and tea to warm us up this holidays. Looking forward to it! Do enjoy the song from The 1982 Snowman cartoon, I cry every time I watch it, it’s just a tad sad. Happy holidays to all!

my big daughter's hazelnut pudding, served with strawberries and choc sauce

my big daughter’s hazelnut pudding, served with strawberries and choc sauce

my lil one's ideal snowman!

my lil one’s ideal snowman!

Enjoy the song!

Comments are closed.