february gloom

Standard

Greetings again everyone! Are we still in wintry, grey February, by any chance? It is the shortest month in the year, but here in England, it seems like the longest month ever! Because Spring is round the corner (supposedly), most people here just want February to end quickly and make way to the warmer, colourful March. But such is not the case of course. February lingers on, like an annoying relative who just wouldn’t leave (just an expression, I don’t have any annoying relatives, at least, I don’t think so anyway). Oh well, you just have to find some clever ways to beat the gloom I suppose!

my son, a picture of permanent gloom, can't wait for his GCSEs to be over!

my son, a picture of permanent gloom, can’t wait for his GCSE exams to be over!

As for me, I decided to join a weekly evening yoga class (set up for women in the community). I just can’t tell you how good it felt afterwards. It’s just the thing for me right now, I love it. Having some time to yourself is extremely crucial for busy moms like me. As a home educator, I always have my children with me. Therefore it is necessary to create some ‘me’ time to avoid feeling ‘burnt out’. Apart from that, I also had the opportunity to attend the local inter-faith gathering this month (my hubby’s an active participant). It has certainly broaden my horizon in many ways, meeting many lovely people from different backgrounds but with one common goal. The aim is to foster greater peace, understanding and equality in our global society. I felt rather overwhelmed when a couple of them approached me to have a chat, they knew I was my hubby’s other half. My hubby ensured I was introduced to several of them. I hope to attend such gatherings more regularly now. I feel that it’s important to make a difference in any small meaningful way I possibly can, especially in today’s complex world, seemingly full of hatred and violence. These great words of the famous Sufi poet Rumi struck me:

Beyond our ideas of right doing and wrong doing,

There is a field. I’ll meet you there. 

When the soul lies down in that grass,

The world is too full to talk about.

Ideas, languages, even the phrase ‘each other’ 

don’t make sense any more.

My older two when small, at peace. I wonder what sort of world their future holds

My older two when small, at peace. I wonder what sort of world their future holds

I continue to home educate the younger two now that the older two are at secondary level

I continue to home educate the younger two now that the older two are at secondary level

All that aside, delicious food almost always cheer us up of course! As mentioned before, I’m not a food blogger, I don’t make it a habit to display what I cook daily. But from time to time, I guess I don’t quite mind sharing a few dishes. I cook a variety of food; mainly Indian and Western. I don’t really cook Malay cuisines that much anymore, even though I used to love them a lot. These days my big daughter is in the kitchen too; she loves baking cakes, desserts and making her very own home-made ice-creams. I’m not one for sweet dishes much, I wasn’t raised that way. We tend to focus solely on the main meal usually! But my hubby has a sweet tooth, just like the majority of the British people. So I guess it’s good that his big daughter loves preparing the last course! Okay folks, I have to end my chattering here. Hope to see you again in March, all being well! In the meantime, I shall be patient as I hang on to the last few days of February with this quote:

No winter lasts forever; no spring skips its turn. Hal Borland

my big daughter, loves her books (like the rest) and preparing sweet treats!

my big daughter, loves her books (like the rest) and preparing sweet treats!

feb food

my curry spice pot, lamb bhuna; my big daughter’s butterfly cupcakes, raspberry tart

2 responses

  1. Your son looks so grown up! I still recall your older pictures of him when he was looking much more the child than the adult. 😉 Time does fly!

    • It certainly does Lillian! I can’t believe how fast they’ve all grown when I look back at their old photos. Hope you’re keeping well. All dull and gloomy here in England today, don’t think you would miss it much. 🙂