bird song

Standard

Spring would not be spring without bird songs – Francis M. Chapman

I love the quote above, it’s just so very true! The most apparent thing about Spring is the bird song, at least, in my very own garden. I live in the heart of a fairly busy city, but my simple garden is like a little sanctuary. My adventurous daughter made a fat ball for the garden birds at one of her girls club session recently. We really enjoyed watching little birds like robins and tits frequenting our garden after we hung the fat ball on our plum tree. My youngest two then decided to make more fat balls so that they benefit more garden birds. I enjoyed the whole experience as much as my daughters, it was well worth it when we spotted more birds in our garden each day. And the best reward of all is the bird song of course. The sweet melody you hear the moment you wake up, you know Spring is here to stay! The days are also beginning to get longer now; sunrise at 6.45 am, sunset around 7.45 pm. I really welcome the extra daylight hours, makes me realise how dull it’s been throughout the dark gloomy winter. Anyway, time to look forward now, Alhamdulillah! I leave you with images taken from our bird feeding project, hope you’ll like them. Till we meet again next time, take good care everyone!

my girls

my girls all set to work

frg

vegetable fat, seeds, bread crumbs; all mixed together to form a dough

rg

tie a string to the pine cone

fe

shaped the dough into fat balls around the pine cones

fwwg

we hung the fat balls on our plum tree, along with a seed feeder

hth

we watched the robin redbreast nibbling the fat ball

gr

the blue tit came along too

grh

they were not happy to see each other!

Comments are closed.