unforgettable april

Standard

Greetings everyone, hope you’re all well. I do apologise for the long silence, indeed I have neglected my blog. I’ve been very busy since the school term resumed after our long Spring break. And last Friday, my dearest hubby underwent a scheduled minor operation at the hospital. He’s back home now, Alhamdulillah. But the past week had been a roller coaster of emotions for us. My beloved hubby who’s the bedrock of our family has always been there for us. It’s a bit strange when the roles are reversed, he’s the one who was in need this time around. I took him to the surgery admissions unit and stayed with him for a while. We said our goodbyes, I kissed his hand many times and asked for forgiveness. He said I’ve always been a wonderful wife to him. From then on I was left in the dark, not knowing what’s in store for us. He was under general anaesthetics, which worried me a little. I made lots of prayers, texted my nearest and dearest. I tended to my children and my father in law who came down to be with his only son. Those few hours felt like eternity, I ended worried sick but relied totally on my Creator. At the end of the day, everything is in His hands. We strive, hope and pray…

hubbyandI

hubby and I, Spring 2015

I rang the hospital afterwards, my hubby was still in the recovery room. He hasn’t woken up. That niggling worry in me returned. But I kept busy, I drove my girls to their madrasa (evening Quran school) and prepared tea for my father in law. My son spent his time with his grandpa after he returned from school. Then I drove them both to the hospital to visit my hubby. I went back to madrasa to fetch my girls. Finally, we all trooped down to the ward where my hubby was. I saw my father in law stroking his son’s hair, I saw my son holding his dad’s hand. I looked at my hubby, I’ve never seen him so weak before. As my youngest daughter said afterwards, she thought papa was dying. My middle daughter started sobbing uncontrollably, my big daughter tried to blink away her tears but failed. I was in a zombie mode, like I had been when my late dad was in hospital. I squeezed my hubby’s hand; I witnessed his tears and the pain he was going through. The anaesthetic effect was horrible, it made him emotionally raw. But it was real, I saw my hubby for who he is. And I felt closer to him more than ever. Alhamdulillah, a few days have passed by now, my hubby is slowly recovering at home. I’m very grateful to all who have been concerned for us; families, relatives, friends (both near and far) and neighbours. It’s at times such as this that one realises the true meaning of life. For life is meaningless without good health, genuine love from your beloved and support from people around you. Praise be to God for the many blessings in my life.

family-quotes-images-13

6 responses

  1. Slalu jd silent reader…but bila baca entry yg ini…rasa sebak…hope yr hubby cepat sembuh…jgn susah hati sgt ye..

  2. A.Salam. moga suami sembuh sepenuhnya dan dalam rahmant Allah untuk ahli keluarga semua. Sabar dalam menempuh ujian yang Allah beri ini.

    – kak haneem-