merry may

Standard

Let us dance in the sun, wearing wild flowers in our hair and let us huddle together as darkness takes over. We are at home amidst the birds and the trees, for we are children of nature. Susan Polis Shutz

Greetings everyone! It’s been a while since my last chattering, boy, have I been busy! My hubby’s relatives came one after another to visit him after his operation, don’t think we’ve ever had so many of them visiting us in a year like that before. Alhamdulillah, my hubby’s fine now, he went off to The Netherlands for a week’s work trip right after his 3-week leave. I missed him like crazy whilst he was away, have got used to him being around 24/7 for a bit! Amidst all that, my son is currently going through his GCSE exams, fortunately it’s half term this week so he’s able to have a wee break. He was over the moon when his good old friends (more like brothers really) from the UAE visited him for a couple of days (read my previous post), that took his mind off the exam pressure a little. Back to exams next week when school resumes, my big girl will have her year-end exams too. Fortunately for them both exams will be over before Ramadan (annual Muslim fasting month) begins in mid-June, fasting in the summer months can be rather trying due to the long daylight hours!

Apart from that, I’ve been keeping my younger two busy outdoors. Everytime my good old friend M visits me (every couple of years), she will exclaim how much she misses the greenery in England. Having born and bred here, she truly misses it. She’s been in the UAE for a decade now, she’s settled well and is happy there. But nothing can replace the joy of being outdoors in England, that much she’s certain! I totally agree with her of course. That’s why we always try to take our children out whenever we can, ever since they were all little. My older two will sometimes look back at their old photos and can still remember all the lovely places they’ve been to. I think it’s important to create sweet memories for children, especially in today’s challenging and confusing world. Those simple happy carefree days I experienced as a child seem alien to many children of today. Sad really. I still recall my happy childhood, that’s one of the best gifts my parents have bestowed upon me. I would want my children to feel the same when they’re older, Inshallah.

We’re only human, therefore I must mention how I’ve learnt a harsh lesson or two recently. You know when you sometimes reach out to people, where you’re genuinely warm, open, accommodating and naturally expect them to reciprocate? Only to realise later that the other party’s only being amiable or pleasant towards you for some other reason? Not because you mean something to them after all. A minor thing perhaps to some, but to a sensitive soul like mine, it’s a big deal. I’m glad to have an outlet here to share my feelings a little, maybe another delicate heart out there can relate to it too. Well, life goes on, I shall move forward and focus on those truly worthy of my attention. Why waste time on those who don’t really care? People are people I guess, you get all sorts. Now in my 4th decade, I can see more clearly as to who’s a true blue and who’s a fake, wisdom does come with age. Right, I shall leave you on a lighter note. Here’s some memorable pictures I’ve taken recently, which captures the simple happy moments of our little life in England!

Comments are closed.