elephant trekking

Standard

The forest, makes your heart gentle, you become one with it. No place for greed or anger there.

We have forgotten how to be good guests, how to walk lightly on earth, as its other creatures do.

Nature is pleased with simplicity.

Hello everyone, how are you? I know, it’s been a while. Have I lost my mojo in blogging, I wonder? I realised many bloggers have somewhat abandoned their blogs and resort to Instagram these days. I’m afraid I’ve also gone down that route. It’s just so much quicker, that’s for sure! Though not quite the same like blogging, IG is rather fleeting. Do forgive me if I do not blog as often as I’d like to anymore. But I do miss my blog, so when I get a chance to myself like this evening (family’s tired out from a hectic weekend and have retired), I shall carry on! This time around I’d like to share our elephant trekking experience in Krabi, Thailand. It was one of the strangest but most wonderful thing we’ve ever done. We didn’t know quite what to expect, we just relied totally on our tour guide. He also took us to view a beautiful waterfall prior to the trekking. He was a lovely person, just like majority of the Thai people. They’re very warm and friendly, well-mannered and polite. Before we knew it, we were sat on the elephants and away we went! It felt strange, yet exciting!

We trekked through the dense forest, river and little village. The weather was rather cool on that particular day, not blazing hot like the day we went island hopping. There was a shower that morning but we were fine as the guide provided us with macs each. We made several brief stops in the forest as the elephants grazed on branches here and there. They were gentle obedient creatures, despite their massive size. Towards the end we all felt attached to them, my children especially warmed up to them in a big way. We were exhilarated from being so close to nature, we felt a sense of sheer joy and contentment. I can tell you it beats shopping in a mall any day, at least for my family and I anyway. My adventurous daughter bought a little souvenir from the centre, the money goes into maintaining the well-being of the elephants. The children got to feed the elephants at the end, and then we were given some refreshments before we called it a day. They say a picture tells a thousand words, so enough of mine for the time being! Take care everyone, till we meet again!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Comments are closed.