winter blues

Standard

Winter, a lingering season, is a time to gather golden moments, embark upon a sentimental journey, and enjoy every idle hour.  

Winter must be cold for those with no warm memories…

If we had no winter, the spring would not be so pleasant:
if we did not sometimes taste of adversity,
prosperity would not be so welcome.

Hello everyone! Hope you’re all doing well. It’s getting chillier here, time to hibernate. Having said that, this time of the year is the most festive in England, we’ve been out and about a lot of late. Joining in all the festive fayres to keep our winter spirits up. You have to somehow, especially with young children. I need to create as many happy memories for them as my parents have done for me! I have posted many photos on my Instagram, so less of that here. I now find posting photos here a bit tedious to be honest, takes up a lot of time for sure! But one or two doesn’t matter I suppose. So as you’re aware my family and I are still around! As you know, this time of year usually makes me extra melancholy. The weather does get to you, especially the lack of bright sunshine and shorter days (dusk around 4 p.m right now). But it’s kind of nice in a way, time to reflect in front of the fireplace, curled up under a soft blanket with a cuppa tea. All the heartaches of the world can just stay outside with the cold. Adele couldn’t have chosen a better time to release her latest album ’25’ either, lovely numbers to keep my winter blues intact. In the nicest way of course, melancholy but warm. Knowing that I’m happiest right now, Alhamdulillah. When you’re middle-aged like me, you get to look back upon your adolescent years, your 20s and your 30s, and be grateful for all the good times. And you learn from the mistakes you’ve made along the way, as painful as it might have been. You also realise the road less travelled which you took turned out to be the best thing you’ve ever done! Enough chattering, I’m going to bid farewell with my favourite from Adele, enjoy! ❤

me in nov

me by a giant Xmas tree, cold but warm!

nov2

my younger two with The Victorians!

MY CURRENT FAVOURITE, SIMPLY BEAUTIFUL…

 

 

2 responses