welcome 2017

Standard

welcome 2017 words on spring note book

Greetings everyone! This feels kind of weird, me getting back to my blogging world after a whole year’s break! I have to take baby steps I suppose, hopefully in time I’ll get the hang of it once more. I miss writing down my thoughts and feelings like I used to. As a result I crammed everything in my 2016 diary! But this time around I think I’ll not post countless of pictures to accompany them. Instagram is a better platform for that! So you’ll have to bear with my writing here more than anything else.

Plenty has happened to my family and I within a year, both good and bad. But such is life, as humans we amble along and make the best of whatever comes our way. Some things are beyond our control, we just have to live by it. No matter how awfully painful. Like the death of a loved one for instance. But other circumstances like dealing with annoying or difficult people, those who constantly try to bring you down, or those who don’t really hear what you’re saying, is more manageable (but challenging) I think. It’s well within your power to handle the situation the way you think best. What would you do? Easier said than done though sometimes. Depends on your relationship with that person. I used to be tolerant of such people who surround my life, but of late, I’ve had quite enough. Maybe I’m getting older and wiser, or perhaps I’m just tired of it all.

But then the more pure hearted you are, the more likely you are to get hurt. There are people out there who use you sometimes (intentionally or unintentionally), they don’t really care how you feel inside. We lead such busy lives these days, who has time for that sensitive soul? Nope, they don’t care at all. So let it be. You can either choose to get hurt each time, or move on. I say let’s get a move on! Life is so short after all. Close that door firmly behind you, look ahead. There must be others who love you unconditionally, no matter how imperfect you are. There are those who choose to close their eyes to your flaws and recognise your worth. There are genuine people who’s always there for you, both in good times and bad times. Focus on those beautiful souls. They are the ones who make life worth living…

I usually end with a song! This one is in memory of a remarkable singer who shaped my teenage years. Somehow this song also sums up this debut post of mine for 2017. Wishing all my readers and followers a Happy New Year 2017, may it bring you more sunshine than rain. But if it does rain a lot, get that umbrella handy!

14 responses »

  1. Welcome back, dear friend. It has indeed been a long time and I wondered what had happened to you. Glad to hear you are obviously well. And regarding your writing …..just you wait and see and in no time you will be back in the flow again. In your above text you actually mention a few thoughts which are like my own ….. in short, you are right. The older we get the lower our level of a certain tolerance gets when it comes to superficial people and emotional users…… I now get “rid off them” in short order.
    Looking forward to your next posting. Good luck and Happy New Year

    • Hi Carina! Happy New Year to you! It’s good to hear from you again after a whole year! I hope you are doing well. Yes, my tolerance level is definitely getting lower and lower of late! I guess it all depends on how much you allow such people to affect your life at the end of the day. You can’t change or control people’s behaviour but you can ensure they don’t burst your bubble by keeping them at bay. Best to focus on those who lift your spirits up instead. Life’s just too short!

      • sorry, but I have to come back here once more. I read your article out to my husband, who btw is Malayali, and his spontaneous reaction was “….my goodness, she has written exactly how you too feel” – and it is true, I have lived around the world, as you know by now, and “users” are everywhere to be found. Like you, I had enough! 🙂 Cant wait to see your next article. Carina

      • Thank you once again Carina! I felt automatically better after I wrote that first post, somehow such negative people ceased to bring me heartaches after I’ve whinged about them! I sincerely believe it’s good to express yourself especially in writing. I always feel better afterwards!

  2. Yup, the people around us are the ones colouring our lives. Like it or not. As for those who always annoy me & spoil my day, I perceive them as a tool to exercise my patience. I have since transformed from a very hot tempered person to a calmer & patient one. So I owe it to them. Alhamdulillah!

    • Couldn’t agree more! And if we keep reminding ourselves that we are being nice, tolerant and patient simply to please our Lord, we feel much better about it. After all these people are sent to us as tests. Life is a test after all, not a bed of roses. But best to keep such people at arm’s length as much as possible. Certainly not good for the nerves, especially at my age!

  3. So happy to see you dipping your toes again in the blogging waters! I’ve enjoyed keeping up with you on Instagram but I’m glad to hear you’ll be writing again. Like someone else said above, once you get into the flow, you’ll find your footing in no time. That’s one of my New Year’s resolutions actually— to write more personal and creative things. As for people with bad energy who don’t bring you joy, I’ve always been one to just disengage with those types the second I get negative vibes from them. If anything, I’m having to learn to be a bit more tolerant of people because no one is perfect and neither am I. Wishing you a great year ahead and looking forward to more posts from you. 🙂

    • Hi Lillian, good to hear from you again on this platform. I read your latest post, haven’t had the chance to leave a comment. It’s beautifully expressed, as always. I’m still struggling to put my thoughts across as you can see! But yes, I’d like to return to my writing once more, put that thinking cap back on! I’ve always been rather tolerant of the sort of people mentioned here. Less so of late though, must be the age factor as my good old friends (I’m fortunate to have quite a few) feel the same! I’m not the sort who’s confrontational, most of the time I just let it go. But it hurts sometimes and that’s what I’ve had enough of. Of being hurt. So best to just move on, not let these people rock my boat or expect much from them, and focus on those who bring out the best in me instead.

  4. Fancy bumpin’ into your blog as I was checking e-bill. Hehe
    Welcome back!
    Life is so short, don’t let the negative people pull you back. Agree totally.
    Deaths. Had 2 deaths last December, one and the next one was the week after. Feeling a little strange as I keep thinking what is it like in Barzakh.
    Oh well, got to get moving.

    • Hi Farah! So good to hear from you again! Do email me or Whatsapp me perhaps? Would love to catch up with you. I know what you mean, I went through that phase when my dad passed away, read all the books on life after death. I hope you’ll ride through it eventually, it’s hard I know. As for negative people, let’s say they’re in the backstage of my life somewhere, only to be dealt with when necessary. Certainly not taking centre stage anymore. Take care Farah!

keep your comments sweet and respectful please, thank you.

